PDA

View Full Version : Help Me!!!


ewok mercenary
02-13-2003, 12:57 PM
Please can somebody help me. I'm trying to start modding JKII and I'm new to modding in general. I DL'd the Editing tools but in Radiant I wasnt able to use the textures and when I looked on where I installed the game they weren't there. I think I'm missing most of the model files as well.

Am I just being stupid here?

wedge2211
02-13-2003, 02:01 PM
The textures are located in assets0.pk3, NOT in the textures folder. Make sure you have assest0.pk3 in your gamedata directory. If it isn't, you should reinstall JKII. Also check to make sure Radiant is pointed to the correct Gamedata directory in Project Settings.

ewok mercenary
02-13-2003, 02:18 PM
I did try reinstalling JKII before and nothing changed but ill try it again.

Dark Reaper
02-13-2003, 03:20 PM
did you extract the textures+models to youre base folder ??
cause if ya didn't, you should. Radiant can't use the files in the pk3's (it can't read them)

BTW, Wedge I remember a while ago you where asking if it was possible to add ladders (the ones you climb on) to the maps.
well it is possible I found some code on code 3 arena, and it adds the possibillity, just wanted to tell you.

ewok mercenary
02-13-2003, 03:51 PM
I've realised why I thought i only had a few textures and models - the editing tools places some in the base folder. I feel like such an idiot.

Anyway can you tell me how I extract them to the folder?

Dark Reaper
02-13-2003, 04:40 PM
it happens to everybody over here now and then.

open up assets0.pk3 with winzip and just extract them.:D

ewok mercenary
02-13-2003, 04:44 PM
If I select and extract all will they all be extracted to the right place?

Dark Reaper
02-13-2003, 04:49 PM
hmm... I dunno, I don't use winzip myself, I just use the windows extracting utility...
well I think they are going to be in the right place, if not then there should be a kind of checkbox with something like "use same paths" or something

ewok mercenary
02-14-2003, 09:00 AM
I tried just extracting all of them and there was a path for most of the files so they're in the right place... Yay!!!

ewok mercenary
02-16-2003, 03:17 PM
Ive got another problem... i made a tiny map (or room) and gave it red spotlighting but when i compile and play it the room is just sorta blank. The textures are there but there is no shadow or nothin.

Is this me bein stupid (again)?