PDA

View Full Version : Almost officially back up and running!


Treacherous Mercenary
02-14-2003, 08:30 AM
Well, it'll soon be time to bury my Pentium II computer while my newly built computer takes the spot. ;) I've been without most games for six months on a laptop, so... I'm really looking foward to this!

Specs:
AMD Athlon XP 1800+ 1.53Ghz
Leadtek Nforce2 Mother Board
52X CD-ROM Drive
60GB HDD w/8MB Buffer
512MB DDR266 RAM
Geforce3 Ti200 128MB DDR (soon to be overclocked to Ti500 levels soon :p)
Windows XP Home Edition

w00t!!!!! :D

Taos
02-14-2003, 12:05 PM
*lays to rest pII*

*shoots/kicks it one more time for good measure :D*

*throws dirt on it*

Hey that's good news sardie! Once you get it going...how long will it take before you get bored of it? :p :D

Rogue15
02-14-2003, 03:42 PM
yay we can finally get a game of cs or dod going, right?

Treacherous Mercenary
02-14-2003, 05:53 PM
Originally posted by Rogue15
yay we can finally get a game of cs or dod going, right?

I can currently play HL and the mods now, I just want to wait because of the shear performance of my computer. :p

Lord Glorfindel
02-14-2003, 08:35 PM
Nice comp specs. R u planning on getting a DVD player for it though?

Treacherous Mercenary
02-14-2003, 09:43 PM
Originally posted by Lord Glorfindel
Nice comp specs. R u planning on getting a DVD player for it though?

I have to get a router and a 50 foot cable in order to have cable connection in my room, so I won't be getting a DVDROM Drive. I will however replace my 24x10x40x CD Burner with a DVD/CD Burner combo and use my 52X CDROM Drive down the road. ;) I have a 19" Monitor, 5.1 Speakers, and a Sound Blaster to enjoy movies though. :) But I have considered the option for the past four months.

leXX
02-15-2003, 06:05 AM
If you guys ever get a game of TFC going, let me know and I'll join ya. ;)

Treacherous Mercenary
02-15-2003, 01:29 PM
Originally posted by leXX
If you guys ever get a game of TFC going, let me know and I'll join ya. ;)

I hardly ever play that mod, but I'll play a game against (unless you prefer not to torture a forumer that is ;p) you though. ;) Maybe several? ;P

Aerothorn
02-15-2003, 07:34 PM
Geforce...3? Since GeForce FX will be out soon Geforce 4 should be cheap, if its not now you should waited- GeForce 3 will be crappy pretty soon, where Geforce 2 is now, and not long till its even worse.

ALso, why overclock? I heard that was only good in the old days and not that useful now- isn't it clocked at the level its clocked for a reason? If you could clock it more without making it less stable I'm sure they'd do it.

Seriously though a Geforce 4 Ti 4200 was $199 when they came out so soon it should be like $150 or $99.

Treacherous Mercenary
02-15-2003, 09:15 PM
Originally posted by Aerothorn
Geforce...3? Since GeForce FX will be out soon Geforce 4 should be cheap, if its not now you should waited- GeForce 3 will be crappy pretty soon, where Geforce 2 is now, and not long till its even worse.

ALso, why overclock? I heard that was only good in the old days and not that useful now- isn't it clocked at the level its clocked for a reason? If you could clock it more without making it less stable I'm sure they'd do it.

Seriously though a Geforce 4 Ti 4200 was $199 when they came out so soon it should be like $150 or $99.

Hmm... Keep Windows 98 SE for now and get myself a Geforce4 Ti or get XP with Geforce3 Ti?

Taos
02-16-2003, 01:14 AM
Hey Sardie, I'm getting my new pc here this next week and I'll be online here in about two weeks.......so we'll have to do some head to head action or something. :D

Treacherous Mercenary
02-16-2003, 01:33 AM
Final specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2100+ 1.7Ghz
Leadtek Nforce2 Mother Board
512MB DDR333 RAM
Geforce4 Ti 4200 128MB DDR
52X CDROM Drive
60GB HDD w/8MB Buffer

Taos
02-16-2003, 01:47 AM
Impressive..................most impressive. :p


How soon before you get it? Give me a short list of some of the games you play.....do you play Unreal at all?

btw-my radeon is a 9700 not 9500. ;)

Rogue15
02-16-2003, 09:31 AM
leemu, do you have unreal tournament? I had to uninstall it to make room for half-life mods. heh. =/

Darth Simpson
02-16-2003, 11:22 AM
I'll play UT with you guys, I only need to install it again.

Aerothorn
02-16-2003, 12:11 PM
I have UT 2003 but the server locater sucks, most servers are only filled with bots but it says they have people.

And why did you have to get one or the other? Can't you get XP and a GeForce 4?

And is XP Pro any better? The guy at the company store said the only real difference was Pro was made to install on system with no OS already on and Home was an upgrade.

Darth Simpson
02-16-2003, 01:10 PM
Pro has some extra features which Home lacks, I can't remember what at the top of my head.

But both are definitely stand-alone products, and there's upgrade versions for both as well. There's no problem installing Home on a computer without an OS either.

Lord Glorfindel
02-16-2003, 02:15 PM
XP Pro gives u lots more customization, XP Pro u can get better window blinds instead of the overly-happy blue window blind.

Aerothorn
02-16-2003, 02:40 PM
Ah...Pro was only $10 more or so, maybe I should have got that. You'd think the guy at the company store woulda known more...

Treacherous Mercenary
02-16-2003, 03:13 PM
Originally posted by Aerothorn
I have UT 2003 but the server locater sucks, most servers are only filled with bots but it says they have people.

And why did you have to get one or the other? Can't you get XP and a GeForce 4?

I only had $680 total to build my computer and no more than that. I can always get XP later anyway. 98SE isn't completely obsolete right now anyway. ;)

Treacherous Mercenary
02-19-2003, 08:05 AM
Originally posted by leXX
If you guys ever get a game of TFC going, let me know and I'll join ya. ;)

How about that little game of TFC next week then eh? I shall have my computer networked by then to my router. :)

Anyone else for a game of CS, DOD, JKII, and/or AA:O? :D

Note: forget about the game, it could take me a while to get running again...

Aerothorn
02-21-2003, 05:26 PM
I wish I could play those half life mods, but eventually I just decided to stop using them because I didn't want to support them because I feel the mod teams should port them to a newer engine. Thats ok though, Battlefield and its collective mods will be good enough for me.

Treacherous Mercenary
02-23-2003, 02:27 AM
Well, I can get the computer running, but the mobo is abit defective, so it may be weeks before I can get back to gaming on the net. I must admit, it's worth it. :)