PDA

View Full Version : func_train noise


wedge2211
02-23-2003, 12:57 PM
I have one issue that I need resolved for my map...I have several func_trains, and I added a key noise with the value sound/movers/platforms/filename.wav, but they are silent in game. How do I get func_trains to make noise while in motion?

wedge2211
02-24-2003, 04:39 PM
Anyone?

If I don't get a response in the next day or so, I'm just gonna release my map with silent trains, but it would be so much cooler if they made noise.

bengar
02-24-2003, 05:18 PM
Hi Wedge
I'm using some Func_Trains on the map i'm working on too. I used a key of SOUNDSET and a value of WALKWAY. I think you can use a value of RAMP and TESTROOM too but i havent tried those yet. My problem is that i cant get my train to make that start and stop soundeffect, if you can figure that out that would be great. If i cant get the start and stop sound, it's cool. At least it isnt silent. Hope it works for you.

Altus_Thrawn
02-25-2003, 01:18 PM
I don't know if this works, but, from Rich Deisal:

adding sounds to doors:
Next, there's nothing worse than a silent door, is there? To look up the soundsets you can use for doors, open up the sound/sound.txt file and do a text search for... well, the word "door." Add the key soundset and the value for the soundset you want. I will be using large_door for mine.

adding sounds to trains:
You can add a soundset to func_train in the same way you can with a func_door, utilizing the sound.txt file and soundset key.

wedge2211
02-25-2003, 02:06 PM
Rich's tutorials use the SP mapping setup, unfortunately.

Altus_Thrawn
02-25-2003, 05:21 PM
Again, you are right. Well, I tried.