PDA

View Full Version : Help Request for Maya 3D


KaiaSowapit
02-23-2003, 08:53 PM
Would anyone here familiar with A|W's Maya be willing to help me get started modeling for JK? Specifically, I would like to know what utilities/drivers I'd need to export to GLM. Also, is it possible to import an existing GLM into Maya for modification? I'm using Maya 3.5 (a legitimate licensed copy I might add :)).

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Psyk0Sith
02-23-2003, 09:04 PM
Uh you need a softimage XSI (3.0) export plugin for the glm to be compiled.

The only one im aware of is for 3D studio max 4.x.

clu
02-23-2003, 10:06 PM
Assuming you eventually bring it into 3DS max for exporting, I suppose you could work on it in Maya until then. For importing existing JK2 models, you could probably open it in Milkshape 3D (http://www.swissquake.ch/chumbalum-soft/ms3d/index.html) then export it to a Maya recognized format.

-clu

KaiaSowapit
02-24-2003, 06:32 PM
Thanks fellas. Sounds like I'm SOL as I don't own 3DS max or have access to it. :(

I keep my radar up though... should anyone stumble on a solution for Maya, please let me know.

Thanks again!

BTW Psyk0, your Yarael Poof model rocks!

Psyk0Sith
02-24-2003, 07:20 PM
Ohh a fan!!!:D ehh i mean thanx!