PDA

View Full Version : I need someone with 3ds max to help.


Drico
02-27-2003, 08:51 AM
Ok I'm trying to make myself a player model and I am makeing a Drcio v2. So I was wondering if their is anyone with 3ds max that would get me a copy of prisoner I could use in milkshape, and then do the rigging and waying for me. Please :jawa

Rebel_Spy
02-27-2003, 06:05 PM
You always can export the .glm of the prisioner directly into Milkshape using exporting script for Ghoul2 (check Milkshape official site for this one), make the modification that you want, and then export it as .md3 or .3ds

Psyk0Sith
02-27-2003, 06:45 PM
Rebel is right:
You need milkshape not 3D max, 3D max cant read .glm files...when modifications are done you can export.

Drico
02-27-2003, 08:07 PM
Oh ok, thanks again gentlemen, but once I have exported I will need somone with 3ds max to rig it a weigh it correct?

Psyk0Sith
02-28-2003, 12:47 AM
You are correct sir! :)

Psynex
02-28-2003, 09:13 AM
Actually, you can probably do it all in Milkshape then you just need someone to convert your file into a GLM file and send it back to you. It's been done before by a couple of people here. I think if you assign all your verts accordingly, using the JK2 skeleton in Milkshape, then export to 3DS (I think) and have someone convert it for you.

I'm not sure if exporting 3DS from Milkshape preserves the skeleton, but there's got to be a format that will work. I'll test that now and return with my findings.

Psyk0Sith
02-28-2003, 02:15 PM
I doubt milkshape could properly weight the mesh, im sure when it's exported, the vert weights will be lost.

But what do i know? i've never actually weighted anything in milkshape, i always use max. Feel free to experiment!