PDA

View Full Version : Help! The game keeps freezing!


LauraW
03-07-2003, 05:52 PM
I have no idea why. I just got this game today, I just started playing it (as in, right after the beginning cutsecene) and I try to look in the inventory. It freezes. I have to restart my computer. I tried changing my resolution, but that didn't do anything.

So I go to this forum, hoping to find something. I downloaded the patch, and I reinstalled DirectX v.6, but those didn't help either.

Any ideas?! :confused:

Tall Guy
03-10-2003, 04:18 PM
what are your system specs?

try running it in 16 bit color depth

LauraW
03-10-2003, 05:28 PM
I'm running an almost-new, home built computer at 1.7 ghz, with about 500 meg of RAM.

However, I think I discovered the problem, yesterday. Examining the disk, I found a large scratch (No, wait, a gouge)
in the middle of it. This made me particularly mad, as it's brand new. Amazon.com will feel my wrath!!! :mad:

scabb
03-10-2003, 05:57 PM
Yes. Amazon do indeed suck. I ordered a CD and a Maths text book. They sent me a scratched CD and a Physics text book.

Tall Guy
03-10-2003, 06:28 PM
yeah the scratch is probably the cause, let us know how you get on :)

lovefool
04-02-2003, 12:14 AM
Recently I have installed GF again on winXP SP1 Eng, GeFOrce2MX, DX9.0 and having a freezing problem. I haven't applied a 1.01 patch yet, and I wonder it helps. This games had worked a few years ago on Win98 machine.

Does GF run on WindowsXP ?

Burge
04-03-2003, 02:29 AM
GF does indeed run on XP (I would install the patch if I was you), and CPU Killer helped me through my troubles. Hooray.

lovefool
04-04-2003, 09:31 AM
Burge - what do you mean "CPU Killer" ? Thanx.

scabb
04-04-2003, 09:57 AM
He means this (http://www.cpukiller.com/products/cpukiller/).

lovefool
04-04-2003, 03:03 PM
Thanx ! I will try .... BTW, I really like Tentacles, and I hope I can play again on a newer platform.

fantastico
01-06-2006, 11:55 PM
Hi, my game also froze up when I went to the inventory, only I don't have a gouge in my CD. I tried downloading the patch, but that didn't seem to solve anything, so now I'm stuck with a saved frozen game. Any ideas?

Thanks!

VampireNaomi
01-07-2006, 05:35 AM
The easiest thing to do is to start another game or load another saved game. I'ver never been able to unfreeze a frozen game.

shoeman680
02-05-2006, 03:34 PM
im runing xp sp2 direct x 9 installed the patch played through the first disc fine but wheni wint to play the second it crashs all the time

gwur
03-07-2006, 01:38 AM
Hi Laura, have a look at this:

http://www.ninth-world.com/giFAQ.php

HT problem.

It fixed my problem on constant game hanging, I couldn't even get out of the room properly without this, or at times couldn't even move.

gwur!