PDA

View Full Version : Another stupid question no doubt :D


Lord_Frieza
03-08-2003, 02:24 PM
I have another 4 questionsi wwould be very grateful if som1 cud answer them all plz...

(First off Id just like 2 say i solved the target_speaker prob, it needed a soundset not a noise key, so thanx every1 4 ur help :) )

*Why do my items not show up in the game but in the amp editor they do?
I have added numerous bacta's and shields some show, some dont why dont some of them show :confused:?

* why do some models not exist?
an example of this would be the narshaadar tables and chairs from the bar, well actually there is quite a few.

*When u have a target_speaker (with no activator and not global just positioned some where and looped on) is it possible to silence it.

~An example of this would be if u had a floor of electricity with a humming electric noise in the backround. U switch of the electric and the noise stops completely.~

*and last i have added some nar shaddar plants to my map, in the editor you can see it fine with leaves and pot however in game it only shows u the pot and no leaves. why is this?

Plz help me (once again :rolleyes: ) ASAP

Thanks alot..

wedge2211
03-08-2003, 04:25 PM
Originally posted by Lord_Frieza
*Why do my items not show up in the game but in the amp editor they do?
I have added numerous bacta's and shields some show, some dont why dont some of them show :confused:?

Which powerup entities are you using, and are you using the MP entity definitions and running the game in SP, or vice-versa?

* why do some models not exist?
an example of this would be the narshaadar tables and chairs from the bar, well actually there is quite a few.

All of the models exist (they have to if they appear in the game). Hunt around in assets0.pk3 under the models folder. The ones you refer to might simply be in a different folder or with with a different name than you think they should be.

*When u have a target_speaker (with no activator and not global just positioned some where and looped on) is it possible to silence it.

I think if you trigger a target_speaker on, that a subsequent triggering will turn it off. Not sure, though.

*and last i have added some nar shaddar plants to my map, in the editor you can see it fine with leaves and pot however in game it only shows u the pot and no leaves. why is this?

Which plants? Maybe there's a problem with the model. Try a different model, this has been known to happen.

Lord_Frieza
03-08-2003, 04:37 PM
Thanx for the help wedge,

But i have hunted high and low for these models and there no where to be seen.

And the plant i mean is the nar shaddar one, there is only 1 (its a model by the way).

Also a new question can u plz clarify what the use of waypoints are (not navgoals the single option waypoint) they do not direct a npc to a specific point_combat because ive tried linking the npc to the chain of waypoints, ive tried not linking him to them and just having him stand by them HELP!!! all the npc does is run to the nearest point_combat ignoring all waypoints in the area. I know they ahve some use coz thousands of them were used on the kejim_post map supplied with radiant.
help

dvader28
03-08-2003, 05:45 PM
I think if you trigger a target_speaker on, that a subsequent triggering will turn it off. Not sure, though.

Yes, another trigger will turn it off....i've done many an alarm on/off switch with target_speakers.

Leslie Judge
03-09-2003, 08:00 AM
The models:

models/map_object/nar_shaddar/table01
models/map_object/nar_shaddar/bench01


The plant:

Yes, I had the same problem. Only the pot shows up, but the shadows are calculated if there were the leaves too. I don't know how to solve this. I made an own pot and placed one of the yavin plants in it. With a modified scale of course. :)

Waypoints:

I think you should try to set the NPC's behaviour state to a patrol or wander one. You can find instructions in the ICARUS manual or you can try default strings listed in entity window if you select NPC_Spawner (this entity is in GtkRadiant 1.2.12 only).