PDA

View Full Version : level creation


diabloblobloblo
03-12-2003, 05:17 PM
where can i find a level editor/creator thats easy to use?

Leslie Judge
03-12-2003, 06:57 PM
Here (http://www.qeradiant.com/?data=files&files_dir=5) for example.

KOTOR*KAMA
03-13-2003, 12:53 PM
search for it in tools lol:laughing:

ioshee
03-13-2003, 03:48 PM
If there were a level editor/creator that was "easy to use" we wouldn't have forums like this one, dedicated to answering the billions of questions that arise from creating levels:D

master_thomas
03-13-2003, 04:44 PM
Yeah, none of them are user friendly. I wish I saved my attempts before I took any tutorials LOLLOL. GTK radiant is easier, though. They use .map files and they give you cairn_dock1, kejim_post, and duel_valley (valley of the jedi). The first users looked at those and used trial and error and then made tutorials for new editors like yourself. Like many, I used and recommend richdisal.jedioutcastmaps.com Unfortunately, Rich hasn't finished his "mapping university", but they are still one of the most valuble tutorial sets in the JK2 mapping world.

When I started editing, I used JK2 radiant. That program has a small crashing tendency and didn't have a manual so I switched to GTK.

dvader28
03-13-2003, 07:21 PM
Go for GTK. There are plenty of tutorials about: Richdiesal's is the main one, and a good starter.....Kengo has a couple of good ones, and i believe Wedge has a couple somewhere. And of course there's this forum....use the search function first, if you can't find an answer to your problem, post it and we'll turn our collective genius-mode on :D

000nate
03-13-2003, 07:34 PM
lol. Dvader way to mention richs tutorials and not give a link.....lol. Here you go:
http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com/tutorials/index.html
You probably want to start out with the intro. To help you set up radiant properly and such.

master_thomas
03-13-2003, 07:38 PM
In the defense of both dvader and I, I already posted the URL, but every time I tried to post the link, I got a page can not be displayed error message.