PDA

View Full Version : how do i..


ILR
03-16-2003, 12:06 AM
How do I make your view lock onto an opponent and follow them a la Metroid Prime?

I don't want to make a mod or anything, I'm just testing something out. I don't need fancy toggle switches or graphic shiz, i just want to know if there is a really simple straight forward cut n' paste way of doing this without making the game crash. I know.. -_-; it proly invovles adding some code the the original source, but thats okay i knew a thing or two in that department. Anyone have any ideas?

ILR
03-16-2003, 12:34 AM
similar question..

For the life of me I cannot debug my crap. The "how to" guide that comes with the MP source is a joke..

"At this point you have two options. You can run the debugger, choosing 'jk2MP.exe' as the executable host which will load your DLL for debugging or you can build the VMs for distribution."

Fine, cept every time I load up the jk2mp.exe with my DLL selected it tells me it couldn't load mpdefault.cfg. When I take a gander at the Q3 loader I notice that it failed to load very PK3 imaginable. I've played with ally the settings I dare alter.. How do I do a simple debug on a simple mod? ;_________;

razorace
03-16-2003, 02:34 AM
The debugger mode doesn't work without the engine source code. Don't worry about it.

razorace
03-16-2003, 02:37 AM
As for the view finder that's much more complicated.

you gotta slip that in somewhere after the CG_G2PlayerAngles function in the cg_player() in cg_player.c

ILR
03-16-2003, 09:00 PM
Originally posted by razorace
As for the view finder that's much more complicated.

you gotta slip that in somewhere after the CG_G2PlayerAngles function in the cg_player() in cg_player.c

thanks.. I'll try and figure it out...

hm... *backs up souce to different folder* eh heh.. -_-;

razorace
03-16-2003, 09:51 PM
Yeah no kidding. Make pretty of back ups.

The hardest part will be to find the closest opponent. I'd probably use a trap entities function like in g_radiusdamage().