PDA

View Full Version : Compiling Problems...


boinga1
03-16-2003, 09:19 AM
map won't compile, suddenly. here's what it says:
==================
Running bsp command...

C:\PROGRA~1\LUCASA~1\STARWA~1\GameData\Tools\\sof2 map -bsp C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base/maps/library.map

C:\PROGRA~1\LUCASA~1\STARWA~1\GameData\Tools\\sof2 map -vis -fast C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base/maps/library.map


C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools>C:\PROGRA~1\LUCASA~1\STARWA~1\GameData\Tools\\sof2 map -bsp C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base/maps/library.map

SoF2Map v1.0c (c) 2000 Raven Software Inc.



---- BSP ----

usage: sof2map -bsp [options] mapfile

-v // Verbose output for world model

-threads n // Set to the number of processors in your system

-verboseentities // Verbose output for submodels

-notjunc // Do not add in vertices required to fix t-junctions

-nosubdivide // Don't tessalate surfaces or split surfaces for fog

-nowater // Removes brushes with a content of water or lava

-nofog // Don't split drawSurfs for fog

-nocurves // Do not parse patches

-nodetail // Removes brushes marked detail

-fulldetail // Make detail brushes structural

-vertexlighting // Make the whole map vertex lit only

-showseams // Show the seams on the terrain

-samplesize n // Set the lightmap pixel size to NxN units

-chopsize n // Set the chop size of the map (default is 1024)

-leaktest // Quick exit if the map leaked

-onlyents // Only update entities

-expand // Writes out expanded.map which is 16x original size

-rename // Renames the misc_model shaders to append them with _BSP

-fakemap // Writes out fakemap.map as all the brushes without entities

-tmpout // Prepends "/tmp" to the .gl output file

-tempname name // Used with remote bsping (Do not use)

-glview // Write a .gl output file

-draw // ??





C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools>C:\PROGRA~1\LUCASA~1\STARWA~1\GameData\Tools\\sof2 map -vis -fast C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base/maps/library.map

SoF2Map v1.0c (c) 2000 Raven Software Inc.



---- Vis ----

fastvis = true

usage: sof2map -vis [options] bspfile

-v // Verbose output

-threads n // Set to the number of processors in your system

-distancecull n // Set the distance cull (overriding the worldspawn value)

-fast // Enable fastvis

-nopassage // Use portal based vis (instead of passage-portal)

-passageOnly // Use passage based vis

-merge // Attempt to merge leaves but not through hints

-nosort // Do not sort by portal complexity

-saveprt // Do not delete portal file on exit

-tmpin // Prepends '/tmp' to the input filename

-tmpout // Prepends '/tmp' to the output filename




completed.
Run time was 0 hours, 0 minutes and 0 seconds

What does this mean, and how can I fix it?

Leslie Judge
03-16-2003, 09:26 PM
The problem is that in the three commands the map file's path contain spaces but not enclosed in quotes. Question is: why?

It should be:
C:\PROGRA~1\LUCASA~1\STARWA~1\GameData\Tools\\
sof2map -bsp "C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base/maps/library.map"

And so the others.

boinga1
03-18-2003, 08:12 AM
Originally posted by Leslie Judge
Question is: why?


is that a rhetorical question or are you asking me?

Leslie Judge
03-18-2003, 05:05 PM
Rhetorical. :)

boinga1
03-20-2003, 09:21 PM
uhh, so, ummm, like, CAN ANYONE HELP ME PLEASE??? AUGHHHHHH!!!! i'moki'moki'moki'mok...maybe

Atolm
03-20-2003, 10:29 PM
Eh? The solution to your problem lies within this thread, already. You just have to open your mind. :p

boinga1
03-21-2003, 08:16 AM
eh?.i understand why the map is not compiling, but not how to fix it.

Leslie Judge
03-21-2003, 11:34 AM
Go to File \ Project settings and edit the BSP command. Put in the two missing quotes.

If you are using JK2Radiant, then be careful. Once I tried to modify a command then it was truncated to a certain length. Don't know why. In that case you still can modify the .qe4 files in notepad.

OR, you can make a batch file to compile the map either with a hard coded map name or a universal one.