PDA

View Full Version : Advertisments?


swphreak
03-17-2003, 10:56 PM
Is there something wrong with the banners? All I get is the "Action Canceled." I'm not complaining, but I just wanted to make sure it isn'y my computer messing up.

Echuu Shen-Jon
03-19-2003, 12:15 PM
All my banners works fine, so I don't know what's wrong with your computer!

swphreak
03-19-2003, 10:21 PM
Ya, I noticed the ads work fine on my **** 56k speed laptop. I'll just have to check it out when I get home. IE must be acting up again.

Hekx
03-22-2003, 02:52 PM
You may have the banner's sites in your restricted zone. Since mine kept on doing that.
I've fixed it now though. All the spyware ads sites are in restricted. :p

swphreak
03-26-2003, 07:28 PM
I still can't see them, plus, I don't get forwarded after I post/log in and that stuff. I have to wait a few seconds and then click on the link to continue.

Is something wrong with my IE? Should I update it or something?

mercatfat
03-26-2003, 07:36 PM
You most likely have a modified hosts file. Did you recently install something like Kazaa Lite?

swphreak
03-26-2003, 07:41 PM
ahhhhhh, then that must be the problem.... so unless I get rid of the Big K it stays that way?

edit: aww crap, I can't find my original hosts file. I know I made a copy....

Edit again.... nevermind, mercatfat helped me out. Thanks

leXX
03-27-2003, 05:17 AM
I had this very problem when I couldn't see any images on www.gamespot.com. It was just after I installed Kazaa Lite. Make sure you remove www.image.com.com from your host file too.

ZBomber
03-27-2003, 09:00 AM
Um... I mqy have Kazza Lite *cough* but the banners work for me. Am I just special? :D

Hekx
03-27-2003, 09:21 AM
I think I have an older version of IE_SpyAd (which adds all spyware / cookie tracking sites to the Restricted Zone) including .ego.com. Now I've updated that, and it works fine.
It just doesn't like SpeedBit Download Accelerator Plus, which doesn't include spyware from my searches. :p

scabb
03-27-2003, 09:27 AM
The latest "HOSTS" file included in Kazaa Lite lets the banner ads work, although previous versions did not.

ZBomber
03-27-2003, 09:37 AM
Originally posted by scabb
The latest "HOSTS" file included in Kazaa Lite lets the banner ads work, although previous versions did not.

OK, cause I downloaded like January.... not that I downloaded it. :p