PDA

View Full Version : Modeling Staircases


JediForever
03-21-2003, 05:05 AM
Ok...Say you have a circular room and you want a stair case leading on the side on the room. Like having a curved stairway on the side of the circular room. How would you do that?

Leslie Judge
03-21-2003, 12:46 PM
I would make a one stair high arbitrary sided brush to cover the the whole room. Then with the clip tool I would slice it to get my stairs. After this the are big triangles which is not good, so I would make a smaller (in radius) arbitrary sided (same number of faces) brush which I can CSG subtract from all the slices. The last step is raising all the stairs to their place.

That CSG subtract thing may not work properly. In that case the clip tool is still there to cut the inner circle out from the stairs one by one.

This is how I would do at first thought.


Other idea is to make only one stair, the clone it, and use the free rotation tool (setting the rotation center to the center of the room) to move it alongside the wall, then raise it. And repeat from the cloning as many times as needed.

JediForever
03-21-2003, 07:06 PM
Ok thanks alot man. :)