PDA

View Full Version : How do you view custom skin ingame?


FOXKX
03-23-2003, 06:25 AM
OK... i know this would have been covered before ive asked..... but i just had a look through the threads and i cant find the answer.

All i wanna do is look at my MP custom skin, ingame....

Someone plz tell me.... or direct me to a thread that will tell me

Thank you :)

SettingShadow
03-23-2003, 07:26 AM
Pack up all the files for your skin to a .pk3 with pakscape... do a search on google for Pakscape..

Chandler
03-23-2003, 09:01 AM
Once you have everything ready, I'd suggest copying all the necessary files to a folder named "compile\models\players\<skin name>". Then open up WinZip (another program may work, but I've only tested WinZip) so you have a new archive and make sure it is not located in any of the new folders. Now go to Add, locate the "compile" folder, and hit Add with wildcards. Close the program, and find the file in Windows Explorer. Then rename the extension to .pk3, and put it in your "JKII:JO\GameData\base" folder. Load up the game and you should see it as a selectable multiplayer skin if everything was done right.

SettingShadow
03-23-2003, 11:10 AM
I used to use Winzip for it too, but then I tried pakscape and was stunned. It's sooo much easier, quicker, better than winzip for making .pk3's.

Wes Marrakesh
03-23-2003, 11:24 AM
I can vouch for pakscape... I once used WinZip, and it tried to create a whole new directory! :lol:

I.e. the player has his game in Program Files/LucasArts/ etc
I was C:\Games\Jedi Knigt II- Jedi Outcast\

It saved the full path and, needless to say, the pk3 did not work. Use pakscape!
http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com/tutorials/pakscape_new.zip

Chandler
03-23-2003, 01:19 PM
I've never had that happen... you must be doing something wrong.

SettingShadow
03-23-2003, 02:10 PM
I think on some OS (at least XP) it reamins a .zip file even after you renamed it...

Wes Marrakesh
03-23-2003, 03:04 PM
Originally posted by Chandler
I've never had that happen... you must be doing something wrong.

Had "Save full path info" on. But don't need to worry about it with pakscape :D

Chandler
03-23-2003, 03:42 PM
Yeah, I'm not exactly a big XP fan. I still have Windows 98 on here :p.

Hekx
03-23-2003, 06:35 PM
You can also use ModView to view your skin, if you're still working on it.
It's included with the JK2 Editing Tools. ;)

FOXKX
03-24-2003, 02:27 AM
OK sorry guys, but it seems i must have worded my question wrong, i know how to packscape it and all that.... wat i meant was that i wanted to view my skin ingame... like from front/side angles hehe sorry for the confusion :)

AJL
03-24-2003, 02:36 AM
Originally posted by FOXKX
OK sorry guys, but it seems i must have worded my question wrong, i know how to packscape it and all that.... wat i meant was that i wanted to view my skin ingame... like from front/side angles hehe sorry for the confusion :)

Then you have to activate cheats...

and then use these:

cg_thirdpersonpitchoffset
cg_thirdpersonvertoffset
cg_thirdpersonrange
cg_thirdpersonangle

Chandler
03-24-2003, 03:18 PM
Oh, neat. Did not know this :cool:.