PDA

View Full Version : EffectsEd not Working for me... Has anyone got it to work?


Silverhawk2000
03-24-2003, 04:56 PM
I have tried to get the program 'EffectsEd' working so that I can preview the special particle (etc) effects in Jedi Knight.

No Success.

I was able to bypass the first 'none.jpg' error thanks to a previous post by Leslie Judge.
- Apparently there are 4 jpg files missing. Just create 4 basic jpgs with the names

dirt.jpg
none.jpg
stucco.jpg
brick.jpg

I extracted all the files from assets0.pk3 and put them in a folder

In the preferences I pointed the EffectsEd path to that folder.

When I try to open the basic beam.efx for example, I get something along the lines of

Could not load env/blah/blah/whitebeam (I am not at home right now so I don't have the exact error message)

I am sure many others have also had this problem.

If you have been able to successfully use EffectsEd, please let me know exactly what you did to get it working.

:cool:

Leslie Judge
03-24-2003, 05:24 PM
I extracted the assets0.pk3 into GameData\base. And I gave the path <JK2dir>\GameData\base as game path for EffectsEd.

Fragmaster-B
03-24-2003, 08:26 PM
..I was able to bypass the first 'none.jpg' error thanks to a previous post by Leslie Judge. i tried the search and found nothing..im haveing the same trouble..keep on getting the same error [none jpg.]and i have to click on it the error about 200 times lol can someone point me to that post please


ty inadvance

Leslie Judge
03-25-2003, 08:53 AM
lol, even I can't find where I post a solution for that. :) There is a thread where Emon tells the solution.

Make four jpgs (none.jpg, brick.jpg, stucco.jpg and dirt.jpg) and place them into the directory where effectsed.exe is. I made four 32x32 grey jpgs.

Silverhawk2000
03-25-2003, 10:15 AM
Thanks Leslie,

I'll try that solution some time this week and I'll get back with the results.

:cool:

lauser
03-25-2003, 09:43 PM
Hey Silver!! From one Canadian to another---> I'm trying to do the same thing. EffectsED is strangly disturbing. I will try the things you guys have posted and reply back within the hour.:rolleyes:

Silverhawk2000
03-27-2003, 02:06 PM
Originally posted by lauser
Hey Silver!! From one Canadian to another---> I'm trying to do the same thing. EffectsED is strangly disturbing. I will try the things you guys have posted and reply back within the hour.:rolleyes:

Cool, looking forward to hearing if it worked for you.

I still have to give it a shot yet. I don't get a lot of time to Play around on my PC once I get home from work. Usually it's a Friday night or weekend thing.

:cool:

Silverhawk2000
03-28-2003, 09:53 AM
Hey Leslie,

Thanks that worked. I guess that the EffectsEd has to have all the resources it needs along side the game engine.

:cool: