PDA

View Full Version : I need your help. (the fate of a large SP level hangs in the balance)


Sine Nomen
03-24-2003, 10:20 PM
For the past few months, I've been working on a single player level that takes place on Nar Shaddaa. I've recently run into a problem - JO tells me I've exceeded the maximum number of shaders. Normally, I would split the level so as to avoid this, but I'm at a point now where I can't, because the design of the level will not allow it:

http://jtrun.rh.rit.edu/cc/sine/3.jpg

Standing at any point in this portion of the level, you should be able to see fairly far off. Splitting it isn't feasible.

http://jtrun.rh.rit.edu/cc/sine/4.jpg

http://jtrun.rh.rit.edu/cc/sine/11.jpg

http://jtrun.rh.rit.edu/cc/sine/6.jpg

More (http://jtrun.rh.rit.edu/cc/sine/)

Without going into too much detail, I need a way around the max_shader limit. Any ideas?

master_thomas
03-24-2003, 10:33 PM
Wow, I wouldn't want that to go to waste. Can you cut down on the light emitting shaders, because there are a lot. Especially in the second picture. Maybe put normal textures with light entities directly in front of them. I don't think there's away around those limits.

Sine Nomen
03-24-2003, 10:45 PM
I should've pointed out that the level is already split into two seperate maps. Taking shaders out of, say, the second shot won't have any effect on the first, in the area where I need to get around the shader limit. Just removing shaders is a temporary solution, at best.

lassev
03-25-2003, 01:37 AM
Are you using Q3map2? I would like to use it, for my own benefit, but it has been a long time since it compiled my maps without me getting that same error message in the game. Sad, but what can I do? Try the original compiler Raven gave out.

Who knows, this may be also outdated information because Q3map2 is updated so fast.

Kengo
03-25-2003, 04:19 AM
Hey, this level is one of the best looking SP levels I've ever seen, it must be completed :) Your problem sounds a bit like a problem AKPiggott had when he tried to use Q3Map2 recently: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=94180

He started off with a different problem in sof2map compile with jk2radiant which was basically down to too many things in the level, tried switching to GTKRadiant and had the shader problem. Having said that I'm not sure if he hasn't had that problem for ages with GTKRadiant. Hmmm, maybe you could try sof2map compile, see if that works OK? I know it takes longer.....a lot longer. Dunno if it would look as good either :confused: Erm, Emon would probably want you to try to find a way to get GTKRadiant to work, he's probabaly the man to ask about compile errors for it.

wedge2211
03-25-2003, 10:43 AM
As I recall, Shadriss had some problems with too many shaders in RPG Commenor. He might know.

AWESOME shots, by the way. A lot of the little details that really give a level an atmosphere. (How come we haven't seen a WIP thread? :))