PDA

View Full Version : Episode 2 arena scene


Zed_Katarn
03-25-2003, 04:00 PM
Hi,
Is there a map available where you can recreate the arena scene from episode 2?
Multiplayer would be great but single player would be good 2, i'm really just looking for a level where you can join the jedi against the droids in that arena, it would make for such a great level.
I cant find it anywhere, but does anyone know if it exists for jk2?

boinga1
03-25-2003, 06:23 PM
http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=6302SP
http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=4778MP

Anakin
03-26-2003, 04:49 AM
The SP one is 'intresting' //shuders

Just a kinda plus but have a look at my sig :)

Zed_Katarn
03-26-2003, 05:34 AM
Yeah, i'm definatly getting that mod when its ready.
As for the links, the single player i cant get working, it says it needs The mod: a jedis worst fear, and i installed that but it still doesnt load, also when i try to play that mod all it does is change the opening screen and some of the skins, the game its self is exactly the same as JK2 sp. am i missing something?

Anakin
03-26-2003, 05:42 AM
In the sense that to play the map, no not realy :p

Never played it so I cant help.

Zed_Katarn
03-26-2003, 06:00 AM
Hmm, it actually happens with any single player mod i try, i just got the other episode 3 mod and it did it for that as well, the opening screen pictures change, but it just changes the skins.
This cant be right...

boinga1
03-26-2003, 09:19 AM
um yeah...you have to bring down the console ("shift" + "~") then type "devmap [mapname]". there may be a savegame file for it, go to the load menui and see if there is.

lassev
03-26-2003, 09:45 AM
um yeah...you have to bring down the console ("shift" + "~") then type "devmap [mapname]".

Surely, boinga1, you are not a cheater by nature... Eh, no offence intended. Many decent, finished mods have a menu start, some betas don't. Usually all of them still mention the method of starting the game in their Readme.txt.

One has to remember that in an SP mod the name of the .pk3 file does not have to be the name of the map. And then there can be multiple maps with different names. Which one is the first, if you use console? The Readme file is always a good thing to read through, as it may also contain other usefull things (with luck and some work one might even get his name mentioned...).

Zed_Katarn
03-26-2003, 02:38 PM
devmap didnt work, it says it cant find it (the only map name i had to go on was ep3. heres what the readme says about installing and playing:

DIRECTIONS: JUST THROW THIS IN YOUR GAMEDATA/BASE FOLDER AND THROW THE PRODUCT.BMP IN YOUR JK2/INSTALL FOLDER

Which i did, but it still doesnt work.
The file itself is a pk3 file, so devmap wouldnt work because it looks for .bsp
Any other ideas?

boinga1
03-26-2003, 10:10 PM
the .bsp is in the .pk3. i'll download the thing now and see if I can make it work.

Zed_Katarn
03-30-2003, 04:25 PM
Well i'm all out of ideas, any luck?

wannadie
03-31-2003, 12:12 AM
if its a sp map:

* make sure the .pk3 is in the "base" folder
* open the .pk3 with winzip or winrar etc, but extract nothing
* go into the "maps" folder inside the .pk3
* findout what the mapfile (.bsp) is named eg: "mapname.bsp"
* close winzip, winrar etc
* open JK2
* pull down the console with "shift + `" buttons
* type "map mapname", hit "enter"

lassev
03-31-2003, 01:40 AM
if its a sp map:

Except if it's an SP mod, as they are nowadays often. In that case make a new folder in your Gamedata, name it after the .pk3. Move the .pk3 to this new folder. After that follow wannadie's instructions, excpet in the game menu first go to the mods and load this mod (you should know the name, because you just named it when naming the folder). Then get the console down...

But as I said before, many mods contain more than one map. They should always have some readme or menu start. Otherwise, use your imagination to decide, which is the first map. However, I have never met such a lousy mod, and I've played a lot of them.

Zed_Katarn
03-31-2003, 06:17 AM
Shockingly enough, it doesnt have any maps in, it must just be that they've changed the skins... thats just bad... I thought it'd be a completely new game added on to jk2, but apparently not *sigh*

Has anyone ever played any proper mods where you can actually get some different SP maps in?
Thanks

lassev
03-31-2003, 09:44 AM
You can't actually "play" a mod that only changes skins or Jan to a bugbear or other trivial things. Of course they are also mods, but to play a mod, it requires new maps, in my opinion. However, you must also remember that most mods do not distribute .maps, only the .bsp(s), so playing them is the only thing you can do with 'em.

And yes, there are some mods with new maps. Some of them are proper, some of them... well... not.

Shadyz
04-03-2003, 08:40 PM
Hi, Im on the AOTCTC Staff and creating the Execution Arena in high detail so stick in there and wait for this awesome TC.

Zed_Katarn
04-04-2003, 03:33 AM
Yeah, thats what i was looking for, i cant wait for your TC to be released. :D