PDA

View Full Version : Great Battle - CPU Problems


T-0NIC
03-28-2003, 11:57 AM
Im thinking about making a mod, the finale would be a great battle. And now I want to know: What would be the computer requirements if there were 100 NPCs in one map ( 50 good guys and 50 evil guys)? And what about the FPS?

Eldritch
03-28-2003, 12:46 PM
This isn't really the type of question one normally asks in the Swamp.

However, I don't think that the Q3 Engine is even *capable* of putting that many models in a map, no matter what type of processor you had.
You could have 100 total, but they'd have to come in waves.

T-0NIC
03-28-2003, 03:47 PM
I was thinking of a Battle like in LOTR: Two Towers for PS2 ( you fight against enemies and around you the battle goes on).

PS: Well, so or so its a coding question!

leXX
03-28-2003, 05:21 PM
Moved to the General Editing forum. I think you will get more help in there from people in the know. ;)

razorace
03-29-2003, 12:40 AM
Not sure. Depends on how you do it and how powerful the computer is.

babywax
03-29-2003, 12:50 AM
Well, a good idea would be to put some sort of "fog," (I don't know much about JKII map making, only Half Life map making) I.E. Sprites, so it looks like they fade out, but then have no men behind the fog, and then you would have either waves of men come, or when one dies another one comes out until 100 have come out, so you could reduce the total in the map to about 20 or so, but giving the illusion that there are many more.

razorace
03-29-2003, 01:16 AM
A bottleneck type of fight setting would make a fewer number of on screen characters seem like a whole army.

lassev
03-29-2003, 05:07 AM
The number of NPCs has a huge impact on the FPS. Of course, my computer is only 1000MHz, so it's not exactly the strongest thing on the market, but still my map contains a hall with about 30 NPCs and even that lowers the FPS considerably (I can tell, because after you have started killing those poor STs, the FPS will soar up). 100 NPCs at once... No hope of playing that map on my computer.

T-0NIC
03-29-2003, 08:02 AM
Well, I have 2000 MHz and a GeForce 4 and 256 RAM. Could I put at least 50 NPCs in my Map?

lassev
03-29-2003, 09:08 AM
In the end, the only way is to try. However, you should also remember that the bigger the open area is, with no VIS blocks, the lower the FPS will be anyway, with or without NPCs (assuming you have a decently detailed map with shaders and curves). "A great battle" does sound somewhat grandiose in that respect.

If you don't already have the architecture built, just make a very large hall with some hastily built details, perhaps some models, then add 50 NPCs. If the FPS goes down, you can be sure that it's even lower in the final product. Still, everything's worth trying.

Hekx
03-29-2003, 11:36 AM
If you have 4 or 5 enemies at a time, that come in waves, like the 'Ladder' map, it should work.

First you'll need the models though. ;)

Unless you plan on using the skins.

Agen
03-29-2003, 08:27 PM
lol
i used the npc cheat and got aobut 70 stormies into my game in the pit map.