PDA

View Full Version : Quetion: I can only save pics as .bmp... Plz help!


[RAA]-=Chi3f=-
03-29-2003, 11:04 PM
Hi all...

I can not for the life of me figure this out!


I have had this problem on two different computers both different op sys. and software. It seems, usually after I reinstall windows, any type of picture I save from the web can only be saved as a .BMP (bitmap extension). I know the pics aren't bmp format. The only thing I can do is save target as.

Here is an example of what I mean! (http://www.theraa.com/saveas.jpg)

I've tried reinstalling programs such as AcdSEE and internet explorer. I've rolled back drivers, checked every internet explorer option and video properties options. Do you think this problem has to do with my registry? If so do you know how or where I can fix it (besides Microsoft help)??


Any good information will be very appreciated!!! :)





Thank you :D

Reborn Outcast
03-29-2003, 11:06 PM
Well try this... Find the pic. Right click and go to "Save pic as" Choose a name then, right below that should be where it says what you're saving it as. Click on the down arrow to get some choices and I think jpeg or jpg will be there. Hope that helps.

[RAA]-=Chi3f=-
03-29-2003, 11:12 PM
Originally posted by Reborn Outcast
Well try this... Find the pic. Right click and go to "Save pic as" Choose a name then, right below that should be where it says what you're saving it as. Click on the down arrow to get some choices and I think jpeg or jpg will be there. Hope that helps.


LOL, I tried that. Unfortunately bitmap is the only option. I attached a pic so you can see what I mean. By default it will choose jpg, gif, or whatever and BMP as an alternative. However, I can only save as .bmp


I have had this problem for a long time. I am pretty sure it's a registry problem, but I don't know a program or command to change it. I'm just wondering if anybody else has had this and if they know the answer.

Thanks anyway :)

Katarn07
03-29-2003, 11:17 PM
I got a solution.

Copy it, paste it in MS Paint, Save As...

That might work. Or is it for ALL programs?

Reborn Outcast
03-29-2003, 11:22 PM
I honestly have no idea then. Try and e-mail Windows XP support on their website.

swphreak
03-30-2003, 12:31 AM
good luck on trying to get help from them....... it's a pain in the butt.

El Sitherino
03-30-2003, 12:35 AM
Originally posted by StarWarsPhreak
good luck on trying to get help from them....... it's a pain in the butt. yeah you'd have better luck with katarns idea

[RAA]-=Chi3f=-
03-30-2003, 12:47 AM
lol, I can save files as bmp and change them in corel, but that won't work on animated gifs since it only saves one frame. :(


Anyway I finally figured it out. It's because of a corrupted java script file in my downloaded internet components folder. Sombody else had this problem too. I hope you read this and fix your problem too.

Thanks for your comments :D

Bilbo Skywalker
03-30-2003, 09:23 AM
this was on the www.support.microsoft.com


front page for a while


they had about 5 reasons this could happen, and solutions. :D

Lynk Former
03-30-2003, 09:40 AM
lol i have the EXACT same problem x.x I just use ACDSee 5 to convert em all to jpg later... luckily i don't download gifs or animated gifs lol

[RAA]-=Chi3f=-
03-30-2003, 10:36 AM
It works, though. Now they save in the proper format.

Bob Gnarly
03-30-2003, 06:05 PM
yeah, this happend to me a couple of times so i reinstalled windows each time :D

hey chi3f your mailbox is full

Hekx
03-30-2003, 06:53 PM
Install Windows Office / Works.

If you can only save BMP in Paint, then you need to install Office.

I've had this problem, and that fixed it. ;)

Lynk Former
03-31-2003, 05:05 AM
I have a small problem now, it's still a problem though... the jpegs that usually save as jpg save as jpe which is annoying x.x