PDA

View Full Version : so i made my hilt, now what


Chewthar
03-30-2003, 08:14 PM
i made it in a 3d gfx proggy is there anyway to bring it into JK2?

Rebel_Spy
03-31-2003, 12:03 PM
Can that program export the mesh as a .md3 or .3ds file?

Chewthar
04-04-2003, 04:31 PM
yes definetly :)

Rebel_Spy
04-04-2003, 06:22 PM
Good, now you export your model as a .md3 or .3ds (you must make the uvw mapping, tho) and then open 3sdmax and import them (whatever you like the .md3 or the .3ds that your choice). Now, you must weight the mesh, and export it as .xsi and use carcarss to compile the xsi into a glm. that's all

Chewthar
04-04-2003, 06:33 PM
i used 3dsmax to make it :| but i have never made any mods before and i need some more detail, and im new to 3dsmax, if u want to see the saber i made...

http://users.on.net/schaafa/lkshost/leggy/ls/saber1.jpg
http://users.on.net/schaafa/lkshost/leggy/ls/saber2.jpg
http://users.on.net/schaafa/lkshost/leggy/ls/saber3.jpg
http://users.on.net/schaafa/lkshost/leggy/ls/saber4.jpg

Rebel_Spy
04-04-2003, 06:40 PM
wow, that shiny material is very good. About 3dsmax, if you want to make a saber you don't need it...the whole thing I said before is for a player model.

You can make the saber with Milkshape or Gmax...the only things you must do is uvw mapping the saber, export it as .md3, open MD3View (that tool comes with the Jk2Editing Tools package) and then export the saber as a glm.

Also, you must take care of the tags, one for the blade and the other for set the point where the player will hold the saber.

Chewthar
04-04-2003, 06:42 PM
but i already made it in 3dsmax!!!!! im not making it over :p took me like 4 hours heh.....

tags? o.O (im a newb)

Rebel_Spy
04-04-2003, 06:50 PM
don't worry 3dmax is fine too. you export the mesh as .md3 and then use MD3View...

The tags, you need it, otherwise your saber will not work correctly. A tag is just a triangle, nothing more.

you must need a tutorial about saber modeling that expalins the use of the tag... I like this one (http://darth-arth.net/~charmin/deutsch/modelling/saberhiltmodelling/saberhilt_modelling-tutorial.htm) , its written in german but is fairly understandable (sp?)

Chewthar
04-04-2003, 06:54 PM
i dont think you can save as md3 with 3dsmax 5

Rebel_Spy
04-04-2003, 06:55 PM
you must get the script for it...search it with google (http://www.google.com)

Chewthar
04-04-2003, 07:00 PM
man i wish i could just send someone the 3dsmax file and get them to do it, i dont understand anything :'(

Rebel_Spy
04-04-2003, 07:04 PM
I'll glad to help you, but right now I can't...the only thing that I could do is provide help throught this thread, sorry

Chewthar
04-04-2003, 07:06 PM
know anyone else that can help? :(

Rebel_Spy
04-04-2003, 07:10 PM
The most successful saber modeler that I know is Quamosity, try to PM'ed him

Chewthar
04-04-2003, 07:13 PM
ok cool ill try pm'ing him thanx for your help man!

Rebel_Spy
04-04-2003, 07:19 PM
no problem, dude, I'm always glad to help.

babywax
04-05-2003, 04:14 AM
Yikes that looks chocked full of polies... Might I ask how many??