PDA

View Full Version : Lava Sound Effect


bengar
03-31-2003, 09:00 PM
Hello

Does anyone know if there is a lava sound effect? I tried lavasplat.wav in assets0.pk3 but i wasnt able to hear anything.

Thanks

Karshaddii
04-05-2003, 12:00 PM
No there isn't. (I know--I've looked extensively) But you could use a similar sound--like the acid bubbling sound ("boiling.wav")

But if this is multiplayer--it's all null cause you'll never accept a looping sound file with a one second pause between repeat.

Finding a sound for your lava shouldn't be too difficult--I find all my custom sounds using www.google.com.

But again, to answer your question, there are no good lava sounds in assets0.pk3. Sorry.

wedge2211
04-05-2003, 12:50 PM
Originally posted by Karshaddii
But if this is multiplayer--it's all null cause you'll never accept a looping sound file with a one second pause between repeat.

You only have to do that with mp3s, wavs can loop properly in MP.

Karshaddii
04-05-2003, 06:18 PM
I hate to correct you, Wedge, but I am pretty sure your wrong. Mp3s cannot loops at ALL in multiplayer--and .wavs will loop but with a one second delay. Now if you can find a way around this I will whorship you.

t3rr0r
04-06-2003, 02:50 PM
as for the lava sound itself, lava4.wav @ http://www.partnersinrhyme.com/soundfx/Ambience.shtml is pretty decent.

Karshaddii
04-06-2003, 03:57 PM
Hey, t3rror, that is pretty good...

But I still can't stand the one second pause.

Eldritch
04-06-2003, 08:40 PM
Originally posted by Karshaddii
I hate to correct you, Wedge, but I am pretty sure your wrong. Mp3s cannot loops at ALL in multiplayer--and .wavs will loop but with a one second delay. Now if you can find a way around this I will whorship you.

You're only partially wrong, Karshaddii. Mp3s don't have an option to loop automatically, but you can loop them using some creative techniques.

Wavs will loop without a one second delay assuming that they're the loopable type - there are many such sounds in the regular JO files. I've used them without the one second delay you're talking about.

Silverhawk2000
04-07-2003, 09:56 AM
Originally posted by Eldritch
Wavs will loop without a one second delay assuming that they're the loopable type - there are many such sounds in the regular JO files. I've used them without the one second delay you're talking about.

Could you enlight us on how you did this Eldritch?

:cool:

wedge2211
04-07-2003, 10:34 AM
I'm not sure what differentiates looping wavs from non-looping, but the JK2 sounds that can loop smoothly and sound okay all end in _loop or _lp or something of the sort.

Silverhawk2000
04-07-2003, 01:06 PM
Another option for sound in MP would be to take your sound...

(Say it's 1 or 2 seconds long) Then using a sound editor copy the sound over and over again creating a long version of it (say 1 Minute or so) Then the 1 second pause would not be as severe and be more acceptable. Better to have a 1 second pause every minute than every 2 seconds.

Just an idea...

:cool: