PDA

View Full Version : A weird problem


Livingdeadjedi
04-04-2003, 02:51 PM
This is a weird one
Im onto level 2 of my map
the first level everythings fine
All the models and characters light up as they should

on the second level kyle and the reborn and the bespin Statue are all very dark

i tried adding an add more light to npc script like in first level
what i was thinking is maybe theres to many shaders
but then why would the first level be ok as it has more LOL

anyone else had this trouble

Karshaddii
04-05-2003, 11:46 AM
If THE LivingDeadJedi has a problem...then its not your fault its the editors. Just kick your comp mercilessly a few times when you compile--that MIGHT do it...

Sry man, no help here.

Livingdeadjedi
04-05-2003, 03:07 PM
hehe good idea m8 :D
i did but broke me toe :mad: LOL


i think ive found the trouble

the light box lights the front of him but misses his rear end LOL
so hes black until you turn around.
Funny thing is the sky box lights objects where it shines. places it doesnt are black

but look how the real sun works
even when its to the east say a wall facing west is still lit. Either because of it reflecting off its surroundings or by the light particles being absorbed through the material like when ya shine a torch on ya finger HEHE

So this means that jk2 the sun doesnt work like a real sun.
They need a game where it does. and is a definate MUST for jk3

000nate
04-05-2003, 03:48 PM
I was going to say it was because of shadows that may have been being cast on your model(s) by other model(s)

-NATE

Leslie Judge
04-05-2003, 04:01 PM
Originally posted by Livingdeadjedi
Funny thing is the sky box lights objects where it shines. places it doesnt are black

but look how the real sun works
even when its to the east say a wall facing west is still lit. Either because of it reflecting off its surroundings or by the light particles being absorbed through the material like when ya shine a torch on ya finger HEHE

So this means that jk2 the sun doesnt work like a real sun.
Have you tried q3map2? With it you can alter (make a new) sky shader to use q3map_skylight instead of the q3map_surfacelight + q3map_lightsubdivide combo. And you can use radiosity too. But... I don't know if the former applies for the light grid which makes the dynamic model lighting (your player for example).

Livingdeadjedi
04-05-2003, 06:55 PM
=]]] thanks m8 ill try that. yes i have q3map2 :D