PDA

View Full Version : Video Card


Katarn07
04-12-2003, 11:33 AM
I need a new video card...

I had a tough time playing JO with my TNT2 and am lucky I did because it no longer runs with normal specs...

I need suggestions for a low priced one that will not become outdated within the year. I thought the GeForce 4s were going down in price because Nvidia was going to release a better one. I read that at BioWare forums way back when when I read up on KotOR.

Any help here would be appreciated. I'm looking for one 50 bucks or less.... Is there one that cheap to get the job done to play JO, JKIII, and hopefully KotOR?

BCanr2d2
04-12-2003, 11:39 AM
I think the Geforce FX (The next in line after the Geforce 4) isn't being the world killer that nVidia had made it out to be. The ATI Radeon's seem to be just as good as the Geforce cards, so give them a good look. I am up for some new stuff inside my PC, but I am waiting a little for that.

Perhaps a Radeon 9500, or if you have a little extra the 9700...

Katarn07
04-12-2003, 11:45 AM
I said under 50 and that was a mistake. I meant under 100. And I thought the FX was supposed to be so good that it'd push all the others down in price. It appears it hasn't like the members at BioWare had said :mad:

I'll look around. What's so bad about an MX (don't flame me, I know nothing about hardware...)

*** Will this (http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_getprod.php/masterid=600695/search=geforce%204/ut=0cfaac75b9ecae25) not be outdated within the next year? I know my PC sucks in other ways than just video, but that is my main concern because JO runs just fine, just can't be helped with a TNT2... :(

Taos
04-12-2003, 11:53 AM
I've got a Radeon....so I reccomend getting one of those. :) I'm not sure of the price, but I think Bcnr2d2 was right when talking about a 9500 series card - that should be close to that price. :)

Clem
04-12-2003, 12:08 PM
the MX's are slow

slower than GF3's so dont bother with em ... dunno what theyre there for

the GF4 ti4200 64meg is a nice bottom of the range card ... other than that theres the radeons ... dont know how much ne of it costs over there

and yes ... EVERYTHING will be out of date by this time next year ... such is the way of the electronics world

Katarn07
04-12-2003, 12:39 PM
Well JA will most likely accept the same cards as JO, so I guess I will await the requirement list for KotOR before I decide. My PC is a peice of crap and I will most likely get a new one in another few years... It is already 2 years old. :(

Hekx
04-12-2003, 01:55 PM
I upgraded from a nVidia TNT2 to a ATi Radeon 9000 Pro, and everything seems a lot better. :)

I get a much better FPS in JKII with the settings at max. Even Duel of the Fates runs smoother.

The only problem I have now is a pesky slow hard-disk. :D
Bring on the 80GB hard-drive and processor upgrade. :p

swphreak
04-12-2003, 02:12 PM
Yes, I upgraded from the devil (TNT2) to a GeForce 4 ti 4600. It cost 400 bucks. My dad could have gotten me a GF 3 for like 150 but he said he'd get me the 4 since he's getting my sis an MP3 player for christams

wassup
04-12-2003, 02:22 PM
Originally posted by StarWarsPhreak
Yes, I upgraded from the devil (TNT2) to a GeForce 4 ti 4600. It cost 400 bucks. My dad could have gotten me a GF 3 for like 150 but he said he get me the 5 since he's getting my sis an MP3 player for christams

Lucky bas**** :D

Hekx
04-12-2003, 03:06 PM
Are GeForces better than ATis? :p

Tyrion
04-12-2003, 03:11 PM
Originally posted by StarWarsPhreak
Yes, I upgraded from the devil (TNT2) to a GeForce 4 ti 4600. It cost 400 bucks. My dad could have gotten me a GF 3 for like 150 but he said he'd get me the 4 since he's getting my sis an MP3 player for christams '

Woah, I upgraded from the TNT2 too(That card was the spawn of all things evil..) to a Geforce 4 ti 4600..my god, the graphics..

swphreak
04-12-2003, 04:51 PM
Yes JO runs soooooooooooooooooooo much better. And if you turn up the graphic settings to high, and type in: "g_saberrealisticcombat 1" you really see the body parts flying :p

I love it. i use force speed and then chop up stormies into 5 pieces before they even hit the ground! :D

Pedantic
04-12-2003, 07:13 PM
I have an ATI Radeon 9700 Pro that I bought with my own hard-earned money (unlike some people ;) ). >_< It works great (especially with FSAA and AF) and so have the other Radeons I've owned. Go with a Radeon. :D

BCanr2d2
04-12-2003, 10:53 PM
The reason a Geforce 4 MX is so slow is that it is based upon a Geforce 2 Ultra, and not even the Geforce4, or even Geforce3 core. I don't know how they really conned people into buying it with putting a Geforce 4 name against it.

With the ATI and NVidia cards, it's all up to preference, even if Half Life 2 is meant to be NVidia exclusive. The ATI cards give you value for money, most of the performance of a Geforce card is in many areas that it is hard to spot the difference...

coupes.
04-12-2003, 10:59 PM
i've got a GeForce 2 MX, it's kinda getting old, si i want a new one plus i wanna be able to play DOOM 3!!! :D

Sam Fisher
04-13-2003, 12:18 AM
I would reccomend (sp?) the Radeon 9000, series. Very nice cards. Just got a 9700 pro (all-in-wonder) a little bit ago:D .

Pedantic
04-13-2003, 04:21 AM
Originally posted by SamFisher
I would reccomend (sp?) the Radeon 9000, series. Very nice cards. Just got a 9700 pro (all-in-wonder) a little bit ago:D .

That would be "recommend." ;) :D Yes, I agree, right now the 9500 is looking to be a good deal since the 9600 is coming out soon. :)

Ratmjedi
04-13-2003, 05:39 AM
How about getting a Geforce 3 Ti 200?

I have one of those and it runs my JKII pretty nicely. It also isn't as expensive as the Geforce 4 and I think it should be under $100 like you said. The PC place that I go to has some Geforce 4's and the diffrence to my Geforce 3 isn't that big. They look the same to me with the Geforce 4's being only a little bit crisper.

Just thought that I'd let you know since know one mentioned it. Also make sure that you get something more that 256 or Ram if do you go with the Geforce 4 cause that is the only thing that will slow it up a little. I have 256 and I am hoping to get up to 512 so that my games run more smoothly. It runs ok as it is but I just want it to flow my monitor so that's why I'm looking into the 512.

:lsduel: :duel: