PDA

View Full Version : Who's getting Planetside?


Silent_Thunder
05-19-2003, 03:49 AM
Planetside ( www.planetside.com ) comes out in less than 2 days. Who's getting it and what server will you be on? What Empire? Post here if you plan on trying it out!

I plan on playing a Vanu Sovriegnty MAX (heavy armor) on the west coast server. If you see anyone ingame as Silent Thunder (or a variable of the name), or Brithlor then that's me :).

So post here if you're going to be a fellow Planetsider, or atleast if you're thinking about trying it (or wondering about it*).




* Planet side is a Massively Multiplayer Online First Person teambased shooter that requires a monthly fee of (assumed) 10 to 15 dollars a month (like all MMOs, which is really a small ammount of money for a game you get continues updates for, and will play for many months). It focuses on team warfare similiar to Tribes, Tribes 2, and Battlefield 1942, but on a much greater scale as the game is persistant (meaning your character progress is saved) and has thousands of players on one server instead of 50. It has hundreds of different possible character combinations, unique weapons, armors and vehicles for each Empire, and multiple land masses with different weather and terrian effects. Go to www.planetside.com for more information, and check out the screenshots and gameplay information if you're interested. Release date is the 20th of this month.

swphreak
05-19-2003, 09:05 AM
I played the Open beta and it was fun, but I don't think it's worth more than 2 bucks. To me, it's just BF1942,but more futuristic and you have to pay for it.

So I probably won't be getting it.

TheJackal
05-19-2003, 12:42 PM
I played the Public Beta too. I play for the NC, New Conglomerate (SP?).

Its fun, lots of people on the servers. shoulnd bee much lag. Squad based attack can be fun if the Squad is organized and listens to the leader.

At first you have to get used to the Exp aspect of the game, but you get used to it quite quickly actually.

HOWEVER, i lost all interest. Dunno why. Its fun, dont get me wrong. But I dont think its worth it paying monthly dues to play on a server.

Jah Warrior
05-20-2003, 02:21 AM
absolutely no way i'll be playing this game.

sorry to be the party pooper (lol poop)

too much like UT, i Dont like laser guns, and this game has no sabers. roll on Jedi Academy!!!!

Evil Spock
05-20-2003, 02:40 AM
I already thought we were planetside! *(Looks out the window at the landscape)* Don't tell me this is all holographic, and we have to go online and download back to the *real* world...I've seen this episode of Star Trek a dozen times, and it always gives me a headache.

Well, I'm for staying here. :D Screw the real planetside--gimme my freaking blue pill and let me be.

;) vlr

Lunatic Jedi
05-20-2003, 02:41 AM
VANU SOVEREIGNTY FOREVER!!!

TECHNOLOGY EQUALS MIGHT!!!

Sam
07-10-2003, 02:30 AM
I was thinking about getting planetside but I have a few Qs

what empire should I be.

can you change empires

does it play like tribes 2

and does anyone at lf play?

Lion275
07-10-2003, 05:50 AM
nope not me , I'am already paying for SWG :D

Sam
07-11-2003, 12:01 AM
well I bought planetside and after a two hour freaking installtion process I press play and you know what happend it said I need more ram...........I really think Im gonna go MAD!



atleast I can look at the box art......

:mad:

Lion275
07-11-2003, 12:53 AM
$am i feel your pain brother, After the first few days of playing SWG, it updated and now the system req. are more higher, I cant play :(

Sam
07-11-2003, 04:57 AM
Is there a way to get more ram without buying anything?

Lion275
07-11-2003, 04:59 AM
nope, not unless someone buys more ram for you, ram these days is pretty cheap, how much ram do u want/need?

Sam
07-11-2003, 05:20 AM
I need 256. Should I get the 512 one?

Lion275
07-11-2003, 05:24 AM
hmmm i have 256megs of ram but iam having trouble running some games (SWG) iam sure PlanetSide will update alot during its life time, making the system req. a little higher, well most games i have seen today either recommend or require 512 megs of RAM, so yes i would say , if you can afford it of course, to get 512megs. of ram

(iam buying a completly new computer which is gonna have 1gb of ram, I need that much for the way SWG is going)

Sam
07-11-2003, 05:53 PM
ok well.. I go to best buy and ask them whats what on the ram thing. They told me that the only thing thats compatible with my pc is Ram bus and those sell for two hundred fifty dolllars!!!!
Thats one hundred fifty more more than I want to spend

I hope I like this game.

Lion275
07-11-2003, 07:31 PM
man that stinks $am, sorry to hear that :( , well I'am sure it'll last you a while, right?

Sam
07-11-2003, 08:52 PM
I still have to take my pc to a computer place so they can install the ram...who knows how much that will cost.

this better be the best damn game EVER!

Lion275
07-11-2003, 09:07 PM
you can't install the ram yourself?

Sam
07-11-2003, 09:46 PM
Nah Im afraid I gonna frie my computer with my luck I probably will.

Agen
07-11-2003, 11:24 PM
Ashame that :(
On the bright side, you'll know that your well equipped for more demanding games now.
How much is the installation guy costing btw?

Planetside on the otherhand - NO. I do notp ay monthly fees, why bother when you can have a better game which you will probably have more excitment in for £30?
I'll be spending little this year, JA this year and then an upgrade next year :D

Sam
07-12-2003, 01:34 AM
I havent gotten the ram yet they didnt have it at best buy.
My cousin intalled Ram in his Pc so Im gonna get him to do it.