LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   JO Mapping (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=359)
-   -   Func_Platfrom Waypoints (Open Doors)? (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=100640)

Darth_Gringo 05-28-2003 04:31 PM

Func_Platfrom Waypoints (Open Doors)?
 
I am trying to make an elevator, that stops at three floors and opens the doors at the floor when it arrives. I have the lift (func_train) working.

I am asking how to do something specific, that I have not seen it done anywhere yet.There are no tutorials on how to do it, Rich Diesel stopped updating them before he got to the advanced stuff.

But I see reference to the fact that a func_train can open doors that are in its path.

I am trying to make the elevator, that stops at three floors and open the doors at the floor when it arrives at the waypoint. Rich would probably would have gotten to that later in the tutorials but he stopped making them.

So what key/value do I insert to open the doors?

So If anyone knows how to do it please help, me!!!!!

Darth Gringo

Darth_Gringo 05-28-2003 05:29 PM

I know I can add trigger brushes in the path that open the doors but that means someone has to be on the elevator for the doors to open, I am trying to avoid that. because that mean I will have to set the elevator to do the same thing outsode of the shaft and the player can open the door before the elevator arrives, and they will mostlikely fall into the shaft.

So, I don't want people to be able to open the door, because they will fall if the train isn't there. (It is a very big drop) Even if I put a switch or trigger on the door it would still open whether or not the train had arrived. So I figure it would be better if it only opened when the platform arrived at the floor. I don't want to add switches or triggers that a player can use I want some thing or some how to make the func_train do the work of opening the doors at each floor.

Manquesa 05-28-2003 06:04 PM

You can maybe do that with scripting if it's an SP map. But other than that, I don't think it's possible, many have asked about that before.

Leslie Judge 05-28-2003 06:15 PM

If you use a func_train for the elevator, you can play with proper timig to open the doors with one or more func_timers.

rgoer 05-28-2003 06:45 PM

Speaking of timing: does anybody know how the "speed" key relates to real-world time? That is, does anybody know (about) how many grid-units/second a "speed" of "100" is?

Darth_Gringo 05-28-2003 09:02 PM

supposedly 1 unit equal 1 secins, so theiretcally 60 units equals 60 seconds, and 100 units equals 1 minute 40 seconds, I have not found this to be accurate but that is what the documentaion for radiant says.

Gringo

Emon 05-28-2003 11:25 PM

...that can't be possible. What about an object moving at a different speed? Obviously that doesn't hold true any more...

Emon 05-28-2003 11:26 PM

A path_corner will fire it's targets when the train reaches it, I think it's used normally to tell the train where to move to next, but you can also use it to fire a door or a script or something.

wedge2211 05-29-2003 01:28 AM

What Emon said. And speed measurement consists of (grid units)/(seconds), so 64 is 64 units per second.

rgoer 05-29-2003 01:56 AM

Wedge, you are so dope.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.