LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   JO Mapping (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=359)
-   -   Your going the wrong way!!! (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=109119)

shukrallah 08-19-2003 11:39 PM

Your going the wrong way!!!
 
Ok, i downloaded a prefab, instead of using md3s. I made them static brushes, and did all the normal stuff. I put the ref_tag above the prefab. But the prefab goes forward, instead of up...


//(BHVD)
camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ ENABLE );
camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ MOVE, $tag( "cam", ORIGIN)$, 0 );
camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ PAN, $tag( "cam", ANGLES)$, < 0.000 0.000 0.000 >, 0 );

affect ( "tie", /*@AFFECT_TYPE*/ FLUSH )
{

task ( "move" )
{
move ( $tag( "flyup", ORIGIN)$, 3000.000 );
}

do ( "move" );
}

wait ( 1000.000 );
camera ( /*@CAMERA_COMMANDS*/ DISABLE );


thats the script. Pls help... ive had the problem before, and i did something, and then it worked... but, i dont know what i did, except add sound :confused:

Thanks a lot in advanced.

lassev 08-20-2003 09:42 AM

I suppose, based on your somewhat vague explanation, that you inserted the prefab into your map. Then you turned the whole prefab to a func_static. Did you remember to insert an origin brush? It's most of the time convenient to make the origin brush the same size as a ref_taq is, for obvious reasons.

The origin brush is just a piece of brush covered entirely with system/origin shader. Now, you gotta also remember the origin brush just must be a part of a func_static, but it doesn't even need to be inside the brushes physically. Check the location of you origin brush. With the move command you used, the origin brush will move to the site of the target ref_taq, and the rest of the func_static will move accordingly.

shukrallah 08-20-2003 11:52 AM

I see, I learned most of this from the cairn_dock1 map file. When the bridge falls down when desann and luke are fighting. I noticed the origin texture, and it was the size of a ref_tag, but i didnt know what it was for. Thanks for clearing that up :D


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.