LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   JA Skinning (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=537)
-   -   My Skin Textures (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=111429)

SparedLife 09-17-2003 03:10 AM

My Skin Textures
 
Ok since the other thread I had started was a mixed thread of Gifs, pics, and skins it didn't make it here. I thought I got my own thread for filling it with any topic I wanted :confused: :p

just j/k :D

Anyway I took on the task of creating various textures for the players choice models - specifically the jedi_tf model. I of course have no idea how to make them work in a game yet or if you can add player choice skins to the existing models. Just in case not I created the model_ skin file too.


I made a little help page to reflect what I have done so far.


Players Choice Skin Help

I made 4 skins for this model and added some players choice skins as well. In the model viewer they all work great but I'm sure there's more to it. Besides the obvious they are not in pk3 format and there's no model icons in the zip files.

http://www.sparedlife.com/StarWarsIm...edi_tf_008.jpg

I hope someone finds these skins useful. There is a list here of what I have so far. There's over 30 in mostly standard glm models.

Index page

Omikron 09-21-2003 01:39 AM

Nice work, good to see that SOMEONE has started editing it.

Lord_Angelus 09-22-2003 12:21 PM

I've started editing some of the torsos and I've come across a problem with the robes. The "flaps" that appear under the belt only have a texture on one side, on the inside they are invisible. I know that invisible body parts are usually a sign of a typo in the .skin file but I've checked for that.

Here is an example of what I mean.

http://www.isd-imperium.co.uk/skinproblem.jpg

Lord Angelus

SparedLife 09-25-2003 03:08 AM

Quote:

I know that invisible body parts are usually a sign of a typo in the .skin file but I've checked for that
Should be able to spot that by a white texture in the model viewer. Check to make sure you are not using progressive JPG's or the wrong type of PNG

SSJShinigami 09-25-2003 04:38 AM

That's actually a shader problem. You need to make a shader to reproduce your texture on the underside of the robes. If you look in the players.shader file you'll find something like this for lucasarts' original skin:

models/players/jedi_hm/robes02_lower
{
cull twosided
{
map models/players/jedi_hm/robes02_lower
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ZERO
rgbGen lightingDiffuseEntity
}
{
map models/players/jedi_hm/robes02_lower
blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA
rgbGen lightingDiffuse
}
}

The "cull twosided" line is what makes the image show on both sides of the surface. Just stick in your texture's pathname in place of the original image and save it as a .shader file and it should fix your problem.

Lord_Angelus 09-25-2003 10:59 PM

Its working now, thanks :D
*gets to work on skinning*

Lord Angelus

jaugron 09-26-2003 07:06 PM

Can You
 
Is it possible from what you have seen so far to jus edit the costumes using the already choose able torso,legs, etc costumes to use them as base for changing them to a new costume ie-like some of the female twilek clothes seem idea for making into a slave girl(ala leia) outfit.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.