LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Help! (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=177)
-   -   Something wrong with EMI Launcher (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=132943)

woodenstool 08-03-2004 02:53 AM

Something wrong with EMI Launcher
 
So I've done the complete installation for EMI. I run the EMI Launcher and I change the resolution to 1600x1200, and the patch is initiated with no errors. I make sure that the "run original exe" is deselected. Then i click play full screen. The mouse goes busy, and it looks like the comp. is going to do something (and the screen flickers a bit) , then, nothing. Nothing happens; it's like i didn't click the play button in the first place.

I'd really appreciate some help. Thanks.

bgbennyboy 08-03-2004 02:41 PM

That means the patch hasnt worked correctly.

I need more info:

What version of EMI? (what language)
Is it patched with the official lec patch (see options menu)
Have you tried a lower resolution than 1600x1200?
Does EMI work normally for you without the resolution patch?

woodenstool 08-03-2004 06:19 PM

I have the english version of EMI. It is patched. I have tried lower res. like 1280 x 1024. EMI works normally when using the original exe, both from the launcher and the original game launcher.

First i installed EMI (complete), then i installed EMI Launcher, then I patched it by going to LucasArts.com and finding it myself. I am sure i choose the correct language for the patch (eng.).

Will that help you help me? Thanks.

bgbennyboy 08-04-2004 01:50 PM

Please send me your original monkey4.exe and i'll try and work out whats going on.

woodenstool 08-04-2004 11:11 PM

um, how exactly do i go about doing that?

Oh, and off topic:
Is it complicated and difficult to d/l the number of components, set up/compile, and use SCUMMVM, for someone that doesn't have any knowledge of programming? In the readme, i see all these "command lines" and prefixes and suffixes, etc.

Will files be disbursed throughout the system if i screw up?

bgbennyboy 08-05-2004 01:57 PM

You click the link to start your email program and send me an email with the file as an attachment.

ScummVM is easy, especially when you use ScummVM Quick and Easy.

bgbennyboy 08-05-2004 07:35 PM

Thanks for the email. Your Monkey4.exe is exactly the same as mine and it patches correctly.

The problem is something on your system that cant run the new file with the higher resolution, possibly to do with your graphics card. I dont really know of any solution since I cant replicate this problem.

woodenstool 08-05-2004 10:01 PM

*Sigh*. I was afraid that'd be the case. Well, thanks for your time. I guess I'll just tinker around a bit more.

woodenstool 08-05-2004 11:07 PM

Amazingly, i got it to work just now by playing the patched .exe with windows 98 compatibility mode (i have xp). But there are a couple distracting things about this higher res. It seems the cutscenes were rendered at a lower res. and so they play in a small frame, with a big "screenshot" of the last scene before the cutscene started. Also, the 3D objects and characters don't fit the backgrounds anymore: Guybrush walks on air when he's standing on the "patio" of the SCUMM BAR, the manhole cover in lucre is. is floating above the hole, Doors have huge gaps beneath them. So all the objects are smaller, or are the backgrounds too big? Perhaps they are of a smaller res? And the font is harder to read, it's crisp but "garbled". Should i be expecting these things when playing at a higher res.?

bgbennyboy 08-06-2004 12:57 PM

Yes you should. 3d objects will be wonky if you patch into an irregular res like 1080x1024, try 1024x768 instead


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.