LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Galactic Discussion (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=586)
-   -   Unlimited troops Yes/No (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=142642)

Nokill 01-09-2005 12:55 AM

Unlimited troops Yes/No
 
shoud there be unlimited troops in the game and how big will that battlefields be?
anyone? ;)

FroZticles 01-09-2005 01:00 AM

The answer is obviously no they already stated they don't want thousands and thousands of units clashing at once that all units should play an important role and that its just not a sit there and hope your unit AI gives you the win.

Prime 01-09-2005 07:20 AM

Plus it would just make the game unmanagable.

sharpyC 01-09-2005 07:28 AM

No... only cause I like working with a unit cap. Makes me think more. :D

Nokill 01-09-2005 07:51 AM

well how many troops will there be in one match then? Maximum that is

Jan Gaarni 01-09-2005 08:05 AM

Prolly as much as your troopships and star destroyers can carry. :)

But there might be a limit to how many you can land, otherwise it would rack up in the thousands and thousands (even if you brought just a star destroyer :p )

Jamps 01-09-2005 08:22 AM

Since that the empire is so huge, I would guess the unit cap for both sides (cause they have to be even) would have to be 750-1000.

Nokill 01-09-2005 09:12 AM

i woud like to have more becouse you also have more then 5000 troops in a big ship

Alegis 01-09-2005 09:32 AM

Rather little than many, and amount of units different for each map/campaign depending on strategy/map size.

Franchise 01-09-2005 10:25 AM

No umlimited troops equels more deaths.

Ranre 01-09-2005 11:09 AM

If they do land by the thousands and fight by the thousands, it would possibly be immpossible to play without dieing of frustration.

Franchise 01-09-2005 11:15 AM

Yeah thats what Im Saying, If there was unlimited Troops then you would have ulimited dying.

lukeiamyourdad 01-09-2005 01:49 PM

I think it could be 1000 per planet not including your space fleet.
I mean, you do have to conquer(or liberate) the galaxy. A 1000 total for all of that seems rather small.

FroZticles 01-09-2005 02:58 PM

Well we never saw 1,000 Imperial forces fighting at once. The only time we saw the army fighting in full force was in AotC. Like Hoth was a few AT-AT and AT-ST with some ground troops.

darthfergie 01-09-2005 03:25 PM

I say heck yes to unlimited troops, as long as you have an economy to support them. I mean if you had a surplus of materials, you could overbuild and still have enough resources to maintain your army for a few months while you wage a particularly heavy campaign in one corner of the galaxy.
Yes I'm talking about maintenance costs.
I think maintenance cost is a far better alternative to having a max army limit. Admittedly there may be a limit on how many one Army can be, but not on how many armies you can have and how full they each are. (yep, this game sounds really close to Total War in my head)

Franchise 01-09-2005 06:09 PM

It would be ok if they had about 1,000 but not unlimited! :D

Nokill 01-09-2005 07:52 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by FroZticles
Well we never saw 1,000 Imperial forces fighting at once. The only time we saw the army fighting in full force was in AotC. Like Hoth was a few AT-AT and AT-ST with some ground troops.
the battle of naboo whas pretty big ;)

Ranre 01-09-2005 09:33 PM

Whats with you people and unlimited. It would never stop then you would die of frustration and boardom. ARG!:explode: :explode: :explode: :explode: :explode:

Ranre 01-09-2005 09:33 PM

whoa did I use 5 smilese lol.

Nokill 01-09-2005 09:34 PM

well maby thay shoud make unlimited only make a setting to put a maximum on it :p
then evryone is happy

Jan Gaarni 01-09-2005 09:46 PM

Aaah, I see what you mean by unlimited troops. :)

Yes, I agree.

The limit is going to be dictated by how well you can support them anyway, so that's a natural limiting force in-game.

I thought the author ment unlimited supply of troops which he could just pour into combat constantly. :D

That would be silly. :p

Nokill 01-09-2005 09:52 PM

well yes i don't whant to yust poor troops in a map i whant to build them using minerals and stuf making nice deals on kamino to buy them 2 :p

FroZticles 01-10-2005 02:08 AM

Battle for Naboo had nothing to do with Rebels or Imperials.

Revan Solo 01-10-2005 03:42 AM

Re: Unlimited troops Yes/No
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Nokill
shoud there be unlimited troops in the game and how big will that battlefields be?
anyone? ;)

It should be like in The Battle for Middleearth!
When you have much commando points, you can take more soldiers!

darthfergie 01-10-2005 08:17 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Ranre
Whats with you people and unlimited. It would never stop then you would die of frustration and boardom. ARG!
It would stop just as easily as having 1000 troops as a limit.
Possibly easier if they couldn't produce 1000 troops comfortably or quickly enough thanks to their crippled economy.
I do think the individual battles will have to have a unit limit per army to comfortably render all the units. But I don't think you'll see a limit on the armies...Total War style.

PR-0927 01-10-2005 03:49 PM

Funny question...why...?

Were there unlimited troops in the movies or other games...? No.

That'd be SO unrealistic...

:fett:

Nokill 01-10-2005 08:06 PM

well it is a si-fi movie :p

El Sitherino 01-10-2005 08:22 PM

I imagine if they did the "unlimited troops" it'd be done in a star craft manner, you can't have a ton of them out fighting but you can produce more fighters over time after gaining more resources and losing people. Only a limited amount on screen (or on a sector) at a time. When one squadron dies you can ship in (manifest) a new one, after gaining enough resources.

Nokill 01-10-2005 09:25 PM

well thay can make it so that you need more sources evrytime you make more troopers then you will need mutch more stuf if you have super big army's
then if you yust have a small team

El Sitherino 01-10-2005 09:45 PM

Indeed, and how you would limit your enemies troops would be by taking over their resources, allowing you to create more troops and suddenly you are victorious.

jokemaster 01-11-2005 06:51 PM

They said they don't want millions of units, like Rome Total war, just some, but have them look and act awesome. I think that's the quote, paraphrazing a bit.

Jan Gaarni 01-11-2005 09:25 PM

Yes, but that's on the battlefield.

What is talked about here is troops and ships standing by around the galaxy, ready for action.

pbguy1211 01-12-2005 04:11 PM

well, don't bet on it.
 
you DO realize the memory aspects that would be needed to run a game like this with UNLIMITED units???
like the more recent 3D games, units that are stronger will more likely take up more population space.

Evil Dark Jedi 01-12-2005 05:02 PM

Re: well, don't bet on it.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by pbguy1211
you DO realize the memory aspects that would be needed to run a game like this with UNLIMITED units???
like the more recent 3D games, units that are stronger will more likely take up more population space.

Yeah exactly not too mention the lag even in SP.

So no. Maybe only about 750. Or like IS said. With the Starcraft thing.

XBebop 01-13-2005 12:12 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by FroZticles
Well we never saw 1,000 Imperial forces fighting at once. The only time we saw the army fighting in full force was in AotC. Like Hoth was a few AT-AT and AT-ST with some ground troops.
You know why that happened? It was sort of... uhhh... impossible to make epic-scale battles in movies back then...

markzh 01-15-2005 02:38 PM

It called "C&C strike back!"

C&C never have troops limit~ so do this game~

mr.piercy 01-15-2005 07:59 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by markzh
It called "C&C strike back!"

C&C never have troops limit~ so do this game~

PRECISELY> why hasn't anybody else stated this ?

in C&C u can build as many as u want, of units and buildings.:o

Jan Gaarni 01-15-2005 09:17 PM

This is NOT C&C, not in the traditional sense.

As I've said before, the way it's presented so far it reminds me more of Imperium Galactica games rather than C&C-series or the Dune-series.

Your force building will be out of combat mode, then you have to bring those combat units to the battlefield, be it ships to blockade a planet or defeat an enemy fleet, or ground units to destroy a certain building or to completelly take over a planet, which again is totally up to you to decide which planet to conqour or enemy fleet to defeat.


This means there will be "down-times" where you do not do combat, not like with Dune where you chose which area of Arakis you wanted to attack and then initiated combat immediatly.

Think a more advanced Rebellion. Wether it will feature 200 planets I don't know, but we can hope. :)


Anyway, this can eventually amount to a very large number of units (uncontrollable amount if it's just let loose), so it would be needed to be controlled somehow.

Kroven 01-17-2005 05:44 AM

there cant be unlimited troops, y'know:D

OD-Nile-X-Z-N 01-17-2005 06:04 AM

Well im all up for unlimited troops, as long as its a cheat only;) But it might be hard to handle, like in down of war, playing orcs is just so teedious:jawa.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.