LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Taris Upper City Emporium (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=645)
-   -   [TSL] Imperial Stormtroopers: TSL Style (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=146241)

Prime 03-16-2005 12:49 AM

[TSL] Imperial Stormtroopers: TSL Style
 
I've started converting the old KOTOR Stormtrooper mod to TSL. This mod gives the player armour and a helmet. I've also started on the sith trooper replacement, but there seems to be more entries in appearance.2da this time. I've found a few entries for the Sith commandos, but I don't know if there are others. Does anyone know what the ones are for the beast masters and such? I'd hate to miss some so if anyone can add to the list it would help.

Anyway, here is a shot of the player armour and sith replacement...

http://warpedproductions.echonetwork...ots/storm1.jpg http://warpedproductions.echonetwork...ots/storm2.jpg

Mav 03-16-2005 02:35 AM

ohhh man Prime, I can't wait for this to come out ;)

SuperSquall 03-16-2005 02:40 AM

Very good looking and very impressive in terms of technical skill.

My only criticism would be the size of the helmet. It seems to be a little large from those screens, but it could just be me.

Regardless - absolutely stunning work.

RedHawke 03-16-2005 02:44 AM

Very, very nice Prime! :D
Quote:

Originally posted by SuperSquall
My only criticism would be the size of the helmet. It seems to be a little large from those screens, but it could just be me.
Unfortunately this is necissary because if you make it too small the various PC/NPC head models will clip through the helmet in places... especially with certain heads and their hair. ;)

SuperSquall 03-16-2005 03:15 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by RedHawke
Very, very nice Prime! :D

Unfortunately this is necissary because if you make it too small the various PC/NPC head models will clip through the helmet in places... especially with certain heads and their hair. ;)

I thought that might be the reason, but wasn't this avoided before by just replacing the head with a stormtrooper based head model? (not that that solution would be without drawbacks)

RedHawke 03-16-2005 03:42 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by SuperSquall
I thought that might be the reason, but wasn't this avoided before by just replacing the head with a stormtrooper based head model? (not that that solution would be without drawbacks)
No... the clipping issue when the helmet model is too small was present before in KOTOR. You cannot change your PC's head by donning a helmet, the closest thing would be a disguise but that changes the body as well.

From what I remember the fixed head was the method used for replacing the Sith Soldiers only, being they all used one merged body/head model and the Stormtroopers would need a head and a body for their appearance. ;)

Darkkender 03-16-2005 10:21 AM

Re: Imperial Stormtroopers: TSL Style
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Prime
I've started converting the old KOTOR Stormtrooper mod to TSL. This mod gives the player armour and a helmet. I've also started on the sith trooper replacement, but there seems to be more entries in appearance.2da this time. I've found a few entries for the Sith commandos, but I don't know if there are others. Does anyone know what the ones are for the beast masters and such? I'd hate to miss some so if anyone can add to the list it would help.

Anyway, here is a shot of the player armour and sith replacement...

http://warpedproductions.echonetwork...ots/storm1.jpg http://warpedproductions.echonetwork...ots/storm2.jpg

Hey Prime this is great seeing this making it into the game. As to the appearance entries most all of them are probably the same as before. I really can't think of any new entries added for the sith trooper appearance. I could have missed one but I doubt it me and app.2da have gotten real friendly of late.:D

Lorden Darkblade 03-16-2005 11:02 AM

Can't wait to use it now on TSL :)

Ellderon 03-16-2005 11:32 AM

OWNAGE!

I know Gscc will want to usye this one...

Prime 03-16-2005 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by RedHawke
No... the clipping issue when the helmet model is too small was present before in KOTOR. You cannot change your PC's head by donning a helmet, the closest thing would be a disguise but that changes the body as well.

From what I remember the fixed head was the method used for replacing the Sith Soldiers only, being they all used one merged body/head model and the Stormtroopers would need a head and a body for their appearance. ;)

This is correct. The player helmet is larger so that it covers all the various PC heads. The sith replacement head is smaller because it is a straight head replacement and so there are no size issues.

RebelScum! 03-16-2005 12:16 PM

Nice work Prime! Loved the Kotor1 one, im sure this will be awesome (r).

Prime 03-16-2005 01:11 PM

Re: Re: Imperial Stormtroopers: TSL Style
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Darkkender
As to the appearance entries most all of them are probably the same as before. I really can't think of any new entries added for the sith trooper appearance. I could have missed one but I doubt it me and app.2da have gotten real friendly of late.:D
I know there are some new ones since I've already altered the entries that exist in KOTOR and yet some default troopers remain. I've found three entries for sith commandos, but I don't know if these cover the kind known as beast masters or if they use the sith armour.

I'll try altering those three and see what happens, but I'd like to hear about others if people know of any...

Doc Valentine 03-16-2005 05:38 PM

Hey Prime, now that you have ported this over to TSL like you said you wanted to, may we use it in our mod Rise of the Sith? It's got stormtroopers in it and its just not the same without the real thing. We would give you proper credit too.

Mono_Giganto 03-16-2005 06:00 PM

Looks great Prime, I loved this in K1.

Feel free to use my E-11 too if you want.

Prime 03-17-2005 11:36 PM

I think I have everything working now. In the areas I've tried I haven't encountered any bugs. However, I'd like one or two people to beta test it to help make sure I didn't miss anything.

And thanks Mono, I'd like to enclude the blaster. Right now I don't have the PC stormtrooper armour as an ingame item. It is only available through cheats. Would people prefer to find it during the course of the game? I'll have to figure out how to do that...

stamen 03-18-2005 12:02 AM

Hi, Prime, I love your work.

I also expecting the converted republic clone troopers, commandos.
Am I so greedy? ^^

Mav 03-18-2005 12:06 AM

Prime,

In-game placement is always a good thing, the easiest way would be to make it createable at the workbench ;) can't wait for the mod awesome work.

coloneill 03-18-2005 11:31 PM

awsome, i love the mod for KotOR, ill definatly be using it in KotOR II

btw, will you be converting your set of Clone Trooper armour and helmets to KotOR II?

Colma Adawin 03-19-2005 03:28 AM

GIMME GIMME GIMME!! :p

prime. dont take this the wrong way, but, i love you :D j/k

i REALLY dislike the original sith / republic troopers, so this is an EXCELLENT change!!!

CAN'T WAIT!!!!!

i'll be the first of many to download this.

good luck for the future!

MattCole

PS thank you (prime)

Prime 03-19-2005 10:03 AM

I think the replacement part is finished, but I still have more testing to do. I also still have to learn how to place the items porperly. After I get that done I'll release it...

Quote:

Originally posted by coloneill
btw, will you be converting your set of Clone Trooper armour and helmets to KotOR II?
Yes I will be. And I'm planning on including some additions from Episode 3. ;)

coloneill 03-19-2005 06:02 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Prime
I think the replacement part is finished, but I still have more testing to do. I also still have to learn how to place the items porperly. After I get that done I'll release it...

Yes I will be. And I'm planning on including some additions from Episode 3. ;)

awsome! you sir, are the MAN!

Prime 03-21-2005 11:51 AM

I now have the armour and helmet creatable at the workbench. I just have to make the E-11 creatable and do a bit more testing to do and then it will be finished. :)

Colma Adawin 03-21-2005 12:05 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Prime
I now have the armour and helmet creatable at the workbench. I just have to make the E-11 creatable and do a bit more testing to do and then it will be finished. :)
YIPPEE!!!!!!!

i never even thought about the workbench, good call prime!!

MattCole

Trippy 03-22-2005 11:22 AM

I can't wait for this to be available.:D Or is it already, and I'm looking at the wrong site...? Either way, your work is simply amazing. Can't wait to put them in the game.:D

Buffy 03-23-2005 01:48 PM

Prime san could you make Ep3's clone too?
 
here is pics I hope you like it too ... ;)
http://img199.exs.cx/img199/4733/sta...lone5rz.th.jpg http://img178.exs.cx/img178/5673/shoot7en.th.jpg http://img208.exs.cx/img208/2799/shocktrooper7gc.th.jpg http://img97.exs.cx/img97/8089/shocktrooper27sc.th.jpg http://img237.exs.cx/img237/8719/runningclone0tf.th.jpg

Prime 03-23-2005 01:57 PM

You mean like this?

Already done. It will be a part of the clone trooper mod.

Buffy 03-23-2005 02:18 PM

oh yas !
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Prime
You mean like this?

Already done. It will be a part of the clone trooper mod.

where can I download ?? really nice !!!:eek: :eek:

coloneill 03-23-2005 04:27 PM

the new clone armour looks great, youve done an awsome job.

but in my opinion, the helmet looks a little large and too much like the stormtrooper helmet, maybe could you make the hemet not quite so big, little thinner, and add the little strip of detail on the top?

but thats just my opinion.


Quote:

Originally posted by Buffy
where can I download ?? really nice !!!:eek: :eek:
there is no where to download it, he is not finished yet

Prime 03-23-2005 05:21 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by coloneill
but in my opinion, the helmet looks a little large and too much like the stormtrooper helmet.
Unfortunately, it is that big so that there are no clipping issues with all the heads.


Quote:

Originally posted by coloneill
maybe could you make the hemet not quite so big, little thinner, and add the little strip of detail on the top?
I'm not am modeler, so no I can't. :) But you're right. Maybe I'll leave it out...

Trippy 03-24-2005 07:05 PM

I like yours better, though, Prime.:p Probably because it's more Stormtrooper-ish. Gotta love 'em.

RebelScum! 03-26-2005 01:26 AM

looking good.

Prime 03-26-2005 11:02 AM

I'm trying to take some screenshots to post with the mod, but I can't seem to get them without the HUD. I have GUIsInScreenShot=0 under [Game Options], but that doesn't seem to work. Is that command not recognized with TSL? Or is there something I'm missing?

:confused:

ChAiNz.2da 03-26-2005 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Prime
I'm trying to take some screenshots to post with the mod, but I can't seem to get them without the HUD. I have GUIsInScreenShot=0 under [Game Options], but that doesn't seem to work. Is that command not recognized with TSL? Or is there something I'm missing?

:confused:

Nope, so far we're cursed with that horrid GUI in all the screen shots :fist:

I tend to take T3 with me, have my PC 'strike a pose'.. then quickly TAB to T3 and CAPS LOCK for 1st person... then snap away.

It can be a real pain in the arse for saber shots though... (camera hacks work much better ;) )

Prime 03-26-2005 11:14 AM

OK thanks. I thought I might be going crazy. :)

ChAiNz.2da 03-26-2005 11:59 AM

:o oh yeah, though I'm sure you may have thought of this... if you use T3, make sure you turn off frame buffer effects. Otherwise, you'll get nice blue lines "screen" in your screenshots...

and Kreia or Visas won't do well either (Force Sight)...

Darkkender 03-26-2005 01:12 PM

Well I don't see a release thread for it yet but I'm #3 at downloading it.:D

Prime 03-26-2005 01:18 PM

You're too quick on the draw. :)


Yes, the stormtrooper mod for TSL is now finished and can be downloaded at:

pcgamemods.com

and

Warped Productions

For some reason I can't seem to get my screenshots uploaded, even though it says "transfer complete." There are a couple up on my site, but I'll see if I can find out what the deal is at pcgamemods. In any event, it looks the same as the KOTOR version. :)

Darkkender 03-26-2005 01:26 PM

Pcgamemods has been having some problems with screenshots being posted. In fact most every new mod is lacking screenies and people have been providing links in there comments section for there mods.

I wasn't so much as quick but my timing was excellent.

Mav 03-26-2005 02:21 PM

Prime,

Outstanding job, I just downloaded mine, and as soon as I compatibilize everything your stormtroopers will have a permanent place in my override folder ;)

Mav

P.S. Thank you very much for including what lines you edited in your .2da files :thumbsup:

Lorden Darkblade 03-26-2005 03:00 PM

Great :D
Downloading it as I type this ;)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.