LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   JA Modeling (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=535)
-   -   My TIE Defender Question Thread (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=150129)

mknote 07-26-2005 08:15 PM

My TIE Defender Question Thread
 
First question (I'll ask these one at a time): I am making my TIE Defender, and something odd is happening:

http://img141.imageshack.us/my.php?i...hot02849yk.jpg

Note that it hovers above the ground. Why is this?

MK

Psyk0Sith 07-27-2005 12:58 PM

Try this:

Your model should be sitting on max's "ground" if you will (at 0 on the Z axis) and at compile time you should add this line to your .car file:

search this sting:
$aseanimconvertmdx_noask.....etc

add this at the end: -origin 0 0 24

mknote 07-28-2005 12:05 AM

:confused: Huh? I'm a little (okay, a lot) confused by this. All I have (as of now) are the .glm and .gla files (along with all of the other files necessary to make the vehicle). No .md3 (at least not skinned), and I don't see a compile option in gmax. Now, am I going to have to pester LightNinja for the skinned .md3 file or what?

MK

CortoCG 07-28-2005 08:51 AM

The model should be in .glm, not in .md3. Certainly Lightninja has the dotxsi file from which he compiled the vehicle.

LightNinja 07-28-2005 09:28 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Psyk0Sith
Try this:

Your model should be sitting on max's "ground" if you will (at 0 on the Z axis) and at compile time you should add this line to your .car file:

search this sting:
$aseanimconvertmdx_noask.....etc

add this at the end: -origin 0 0 24

Thats what i did, the model is sitting on max's grid so i dont think is a problem of mine, look at the .veh, maybe you have put there a hover for it. Play with:
hoverHeight
hoverStrength
and try to fix it like that, cuz i have the .max opened in front of me and the tie is on the grid.

CortoCG 07-28-2005 09:30 AM

Negative! Pidgeons to home plate!

mknote 07-28-2005 03:27 PM

Nay, I've tried all four combinations possible between those two variable and the numbers 1 and 1000... absolutly NO difference. Also, and I'm not sure if this means anything, but when I look at the .glm with ModView, it is quite a bit above the "floor" that is projected with "View/...showing floor" option. The "floor" is below even the lower wings. In contrast, the TIE Fighter that comes with the vehicle tutorial has the "floor" right below the cockpit.

MK

LightNinja 07-28-2005 04:14 PM

ok..i've erased the dummies, ill send the .glm to you in 5 minutes so then try it in game and tell me if the problem is still there

mknote 07-28-2005 06:18 PM

Um, LightNinja, unless I'm gravely mistaken, it's the exact same .glm file that you sent a few days ago... same size, same last modified date, and no change in-game.

MK

LightNinja 07-28-2005 06:22 PM

yes you are mistaken, the first one has dummies and the second one dont, i dont know if that changes something but i've had this problem one time and i erased the dummies and the problem was fixed
Edit: DoH!! i forgot to make the glm..ill send it in 5 mins

mknote 07-28-2005 07:15 PM

I hate stupid mistakes. They're so stupid. Anyway, the file is new, but it didn't fix the problem.

So, is there anything else that can be done? I.E. why is the "floor" I mentioned earlier so low? I believe there is some connection. To prove this, I'll need to edit the .glm. How do I do this? (ModView can do what I want, but can't seem to save)

MK

Manquesa 07-30-2005 05:01 PM

Well, I don't know if my way is the most absolute correct method, but here's what i've noticed.

Vehicles should be centered at 0,0,0 in 3Ds Max and then in carcass just leave it at 0,0,0. That 24 or -24 that Duncan's tutorial says shouldn't be necessary.

Mknote, my guess would be that your bounding box is not set up correctly. You probably used the Tie Fighter's .veh and .npc files as a base. The Tie Fighter has a very high height parameter.

All vehicles need to have their bounding boxes set manually in the .veh and .npc files. The bounding box will extrude equally from the center axis or 0,0,0. For example, if you set the height parameter at 200, then the bounding box will go up 100 from 0,0,0 and down 100 from 0,0,0. The same thing happens for the length and width parameters as well.

One easy way to get a start on what measurements to use for your vehicle is to load it up in ModView and then select the show bounding box option. This will show you the measurements of each axis. You can then input these numbers into the corresponding fields in the vehicle file for height, length, and width. Also, make sure the height parameter in the .npc
ile is the same as the height parameter in the .veh file. Don't worry about the other number in the .npc file. Mike G of Ravensoft told me once what that number is for but I don't remember, either way it never seemed to important to mess around with so I don't.

Then load up the game and spawn your vehicle. Get in the vehicle and then type cg_showvehbounds 1 in the console. This will allow you to see the actual bounding box. Now if you spawned the vehicle at an angle it will not appear correctly so straighten the ship out. For some reason bouding boxes only rotate in certain degree increments.

Then all you gotta do is go back into the .veh file and .npc files and fine tune the settings until it meets your satisfaction. Most like the height parameter is the one you'll need to change the most.

If the bouding box isn't set up right not only will it cause the vehicle to either spawn in the ground or too high in the air, but it will cause collision detection to be off resulting in you being able to fly through things without being hit or be hit by things you're not even close too,Unfortunately, most user made vehicles i've seen have horrible bounding boxes, although I will say that a few certain vehicles do have shapes that are difficult to do due to the limitations of only having a big square cube for your bounding box.

I hope this helps

mknote 08-04-2005 02:23 PM

I'll get on that, but first I wanted you to see something:

http://img73.imageshack.us/my.php?im...modview6nb.jpg

The purple area is exactly where the "floor" is in ModView, and I haven't changed the FOV since I opened up the .glm. Just in case that means anything.

MK

*edit* Nope, the bounding box didn't help the problem. In fact, unless my imagination is getting to me, it made it worse.

Manquesa 08-04-2005 11:38 PM

an ingame pic of the vehicle with the "cg_showvehbounds 1" on would help.

And still, based on everything being said it sounds like a bounding box issue to me and possibly your origin not being set in the center.

mknote 08-05-2005 02:22 PM

I think you're right; it is most likely a bounding box problem.

http://img274.imageshack.us/my.php?i...hot02885we.jpg

I've copied the values from ModView into the .veh and .npc file, yet the bounding box doesn't seem nearly large enough, nor is it in the right orientation, to fully cover the Defender.

MK

Manquesa 08-05-2005 03:29 PM

yeah, it looks like your origin is off center.

You're gonna have to either just make the bounding box really small, though that would mean collision detection will be wrong and you'll fly be able to fly through things you shouldn't be able to.

or

You need to recenter the vehicle on it's origin in max and recompile the vehicle as i've stated in my original post.

mknote 08-05-2005 03:47 PM

LightNinja? You're the one who compiled it (I think), what needs be done?

MK


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.