LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   General Editing (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=156)
-   -   Menu Editing (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=151962)

Higginson 09-06-2005 08:21 PM

Menu Editing
 
OK, So I've resurrected a little mod I was doing way back, now that Hapslash's Dooku and Obi-Wan have been released.

It's basically a mod that has all the Jedi and Sith from the Movies in it, all selectable in Single Player from the Create a Character screen. Now, what I'm wanting to do is divide the selection between two types: "Jedi" and "Sith". I have so far organzied the positions of the buttons on the Choose a character screen, but I was wondering if having two seperate lists of models is even possible. So if you click the Jedi Button, then everytime You click the Jedi's name it goes through the Jedi list, and after clicking Sith you click the Sith's name and it scrolls through a list of Sith player models that are available. I've got everyone ingame with no problems, and have been working on getting their sabers in too, which is almost done. I've been making icon's following RazorAce's great tutorial, and that's all going smoothly too.

Thanks,
James.

razorace 09-06-2005 08:39 PM

Well, you'd have to set up the menu system to split up the current "species" selection stuff into Jedi and Sith lists. I imagine you'd have to just use some fancy .menu editting to either hardwire the possible selections or write up some new UI scripts to sort the models into Sith/Jedi catagories.

I'd probably just examine how the species button on the current menus works and go from there.

Higginson 09-06-2005 08:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by razorace
Well, you'd have to set up the menu system to split up the current "species" selection stuff into Jedi and Sith lists. I imagine you'd have to just use some fancy .menu editting to either hardwire the possible selections or write up some new UI scripts to sort the models into Sith/Jedi catagories.

Aha, that's what I wanted to hear. I saw something about a UI script for the character list, but didn't know where to find it/how to make my own/where to put it so it's overwritten.

Quote:

I'd probably just examine how the species button on the current menus works and go from there.
yeah, that's what I've done so far, I used the species button as a template, and copied the whole section twice, and made new references as @MENUS_JEDI and @MENUS_SITH. I have the two new buttons on my menu and everything, just don't know how to make 2 lists of models.

If you (or anyone else!) could give me any more info on the UI thing, that would be very much appreciated. Thanks again mate.

Higginson 09-07-2005 05:42 AM

Also, is there a way to remove the original Jedi_hf, Jedi_rm etc from the selection screen? Thanks.

razorace 09-07-2005 12:38 PM

Uh, just hardcode the possible choices using a standard menu item switch. Look to most of the Options menu items to see how to do that.

Higginson 09-07-2005 05:26 PM

Yeah, that's what I'm trying to do, but I'm not particularly sure myself. At the moment I've managed to place the buttons onto the screen where I want them, but clicking them does nothing. It appears they are only text.

Here is what I mean:
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b3...ter_screen.jpg

The buttons are where I want them to be, but they don't work. I'm eventually gonna move the name of the character to where the colour block is, as that won't be used.

Also, this is the code from character.menu for my Jedi Species button:
Code:

//----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
// SPECIES BUTTON - Jedi
//----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                itemDef
                {
                        name                                jedi
                        group                                none
                        type                                ITEM_TYPE_BUTTON
                        style                                WINDOW_STYLE_EMPTY
                        rect                                30 88 140 24
                        forecolor                        .549 .854 1 1
                        text                                @MENUS_JEDI
                        textalign                        ITEM_ALIGN_LEFT
                        textalignx                        65
                        textaligny                        -1
                        font                                3
                        textscale                        1
                        visible                        1
                        decoration
                }

                itemDef
                {
                        name                                jedibut_glow
                        group                                none
                        style                                WINDOW_STYLE_SHADER
                        rect                                176 92 150 16
                        background                        "gfx/menus/menu_buttonback"
                        forecolor                        1 1 1 1
                        visible                        0
                        decoration
                }

                itemDef
                {
                        name                                jedibut
                        group                                none
                        text                                " "
                        descText                        @MENUS_CHOOSE_JEDI
                        type                                ITEM_TYPE_MULTI    //Originally ITEM_TYPE_MULTI
                        style                                WINDOW_STYLE_EMPTY
                        rect                                176 92 150 16
                        font                                2
                        textscale                        .9
                        textaligny                        -5
                        textalign                        ITEM_ALIGN_LEFT
                        textstyle                        1
                        textalignx                        50
                        backcolor                        0 0 0 0
                        forecolor                        .615 .615 .956 1
                        feeder                                16        //FEEDER_PLAYER_SPECIES
                        cvar                                "ui_char_model"
                        cvarStrList                        feeder

                        visible                        1
                       
                        mouseEnter
                        {
                                show                        jedibut_glow
                        }
                        mouseExit
                        {
                                hide                        jedibut_glow
                        }                   
                        action
                        {
                                play                        "sound/interface/button1.wav"
                                uiScript                "characterchanged"
                                uiScript                "resetcharacterlistboxes"
                        }
                }

Could you take a look and see if you can spot anything?

I'm also not sure why there is two character names...

Higginson 09-07-2005 06:01 PM

Ok, Well, Update. I got the two buttons working. you can click them now. More info when I figure out how to say what I mean :P

Higginson 09-10-2005 01:16 PM

Update: Managed to eliminate the original create-a-jedi characters, and split the species into two groups. Now when I press the Sith button it cycles through the Sith, and the Jedi button cycles through the Jedi. Did it by altering this piece of code:

In the original character.menu file it says:
Code:

cvar                                "ui_char_model"
cvarStrList                        feeder

I then looked in the saber.menu and found this:
Code:

cvarStrList
{
@MENUS_SINGLE_1 "single_1"
@MENUS_SINGLE_2 "single_2"
etc.
}

I incorporated this into my menu like so:
Code:

cvarStrList
{
@MENUS_JEDI_AS "jedi_as" (that's my reference for Anakin Skywalker)
etc.
}

So I only listed the Jedi I wanted and got to eliminate the original create-a-jedis.

Only thing left to do is re-arrange all the buttons into their correct positions ;)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.