LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=646)
-   -   Module editor question (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=154428)

Emperor Devon 10-28-2005 02:29 AM

Module editor question
 
I have a question about the module editor. Is it possible to make a new map which has the NPCs that where there originally and the ones you added? Whenever I add a few NPCs to a map, only those NPCs will be there, and the old ones won't.

Fred Tetra 10-28-2005 10:01 AM

How did you extract the module for editing?

If you just used the Extract button for the .git, .are, and .ifo files, you won't see the other things that were in the module originally.

I don't know what your level of experience is, so pardon me if I speak below your level, but here's a brief explanation on how modules work...

A .git file tells the game engine what should be present in a module by making references to the items in it. These items have to exist as the various ut* files either in the module itself (editable instances in Kotor Tool parlance) or in the game's templates.bif file (non-editable references).

The easiest way to edit an existing module and to learn how they work is to extract the complete contents of one into a project folder, then open it in the module editor and experiment. This is how I learned how things work and also helped me to improve the features of the editor, too.

After you get comfortable with the inner workings of a module, add, change, and delete until you like what you get. On the topic of building the output mod file, I like to have mine go right into the game's Modules folder. This way, I can just start the game, load a save with the party configured as I like for testing, then warp to my module (whatever I saved the .mod as).

Emperor Devon 10-28-2005 11:15 PM

I was using the mdoule editor which shows you a map you can drag NPCs or other things onto. I extracted all the map files, the git. are. and ifo. files.

Fred Tetra 10-29-2005 11:07 AM

That would explain why you don't see the original items in-game. You have a .git that refers to items that you didn't extract, and while they'll show up in the module editor, the files to support them aren't present and so cannot be added to the .mod file.

You need to use the right-click menu on module to get the Extract for module editing menu item, then use that to extract. This will ensure that you're extracting what you want and removing any references in the .git for those things that you do not.

Emperor Devon 10-29-2005 01:16 PM

Thanks, I've gotten it to work now. I just have one more question - what do I do about lips?

Fred Tetra 10-29-2005 03:22 PM

Pehaps you could be a little less cryptic?

Emperor Devon 10-29-2005 05:03 PM

Lips are the movements of NPC's lips when they talk. Building a new module seems to make them keep their mouths shut while they talk.

Fred Tetra 10-29-2005 08:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Emperor Devon
Lips are the movements of NPC's lips when they talk. Building a new module seems to make them keep their mouths shut while they talk.

You might want to PM JdNoa, who has more knowledge of the Lip Sync features.

RedHawke 10-30-2005 01:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Emperor Devon
Lips are the movements of NPC's lips when they talk. Building a new module seems to make them keep their mouths shut while they talk.

You have to extract the .lip file(s) you use in your dialogs for your module to your override, then NPC's will talk normally. ;)

Emperor Devon 10-30-2005 01:48 PM

Thanks. Where do I extract them from, though? There isn't anything about lips in KOTOR tool.

Fred Tetra 10-30-2005 02:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Emperor Devon
Thanks. Where do I extract them from, though? There isn't anything about lips in KOTOR tool.

No one has show much interest in .lip files until recently, so Kotor Tool doesn't explicitly support their extraction. However, you can go to the Lips directory under the main game directory, grab the .mod file for the module you want, copy it to the Modules folder, then extract its contents in Kotor Tool from the ERFs | Modules tree section.

Emperor Devon 10-30-2005 03:59 PM

Thanks.

RedHawke 10-30-2005 10:48 PM

*Sees that Fred has saved the day and saved RedHawke much typing...*

You are welcome ED, and thanks Fred! :D


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.