LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   JA Modeling (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=535)
-   -   Modeling/skinning newbie needing help (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=159421)

Farra Sti 01-26-2006 10:04 PM

Modeling/skinning newbie needing help
 
Ok I decided I wanted a decent female jedi in prequal robes. I downloaded milkshape and used that to take the parts I needed from one of the new prequal jedi skins and then saved them as separate parts. Then I opened the femalejedi model I have and deleted the parts I don't want. Then I imported the parts of the New Prequal Jedi model that I wanted and saved it as one thing. It looked fine in milkshape. Then I exported it as a .glm. Then I put the .glm and the necessary skin graphics into a new folder and made it into a pk3 with PakScape and altered the necessary parts of the .glm file in notepad. However when I tried using the new model/skin in the game it comes up as Kyle Katarn. Any idea what I've done wrong.

Psyk0Sith 01-27-2006 01:59 AM

Because that's not how you put a model together.

Farra Sti 01-27-2006 02:10 AM

how do I put a model together

Psyk0Sith 01-27-2006 02:44 PM

First you need 3D Studio Max 4.x, 5.x or 6, or Softimage .XSI. Yes they cost money.

Farra Sti 01-28-2006 04:06 AM

what is milkshape used for then

Ranius 01-28-2006 01:29 PM

it isn't...almost...unless you get some plugins to export the "right" files.

Psyk0Sith 01-28-2006 02:37 PM

Milkshape can be used to make weapons or map objects.

Farra Sti 01-28-2006 09:33 PM

Aah I see. I've downloaded gmax which is the free version of 3 d max. I can't open .glms in it though so I"m not sure what I'm doing. I had previously asked on here if someone was willing to make the skin or model for me but no one wants to I guess so I'm trying to do it myself

darth rookus 05-05-2006 01:16 PM

Hey! I think I can help you =) I have for 3DS max 7 the GLM Importer and Md3 exporter. First, you must make your model, and export it as a .md3 . Than you must make a skin file for your model. How, schould someone other tell you...then when you have your .skin file, download JK2 skining tools. There is a program called Md3 view. Open with Md3 View your exportet model, and load your .skin file. Than only export that as a GLM (Ghoul2). That's it! ,and you have the glm file.

Farra Sti 06-18-2006 11:57 PM

I"m still trying to make my model but I still don't understand the process. I am not sure if I'm missing steps out because I"m still working with parts of two different models. I've got 3d studio max 6 so I know that will help but I just don't know the correct processes.

Psyk0Sith 06-19-2006 01:04 AM

It's clearly stated in my JK2/Jk3 guide:

Character building basics (workflow)

*This is pretty much the same thing Spacemonkey discussed in his tutorial, with some comments/tips from myself*

Steps i did for my models (yes you should follow in that order):

*1.Import Kyle's Skeleton from .Xsi

*2.Weight the tags to the skeleton

3.Modeling (build your model around the skeleton with previously weighted tags)

4.UVW Mapping

5.Segment your model

6.Cap the segments (this can be done after the hierarchy)

7.Weight the mesh to bones

8.Link the hierarchy

9.LODs (ok, i didnt make any ;P)

10.Export to .XSI / Compile thru assimilate

*If you are using the JK3 skeleton, steps 1 & 2 are already done.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.