LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Feedback (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=584)
-   -   Submit freezes my browser (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=159447)

mjpb3 01-27-2006 07:35 AM

Submit freezes my browser
 
I use IE, and am quite happy with it, thanks ;P

Anyway, sometimes, not always though, my browser freezes
when I click submit on posts and PMs. Especially PMs, I
have real trouble with those.

Also, if I click preview before posting messages, my
browser freezes.

So, is it the ads or some scripting on the site itself?

It is really annoying to write a whole message to someone,
or answer a post, to have my browser freeze when I try to
post/submit and have to go back later to send the message
when the site will actually 'let me' :/

It has gotten so bad that I have write an answer or post
in Notepad and save it on my computer to copy and paste
as an answer/post when the site let's me.
(If I don't and my browser freezes, I lose the whole
message and that's QUITE annoying :|)

So, is there something I need to do, or is this just
something I have to deal with?

Prime 01-27-2006 11:12 AM

What version of IE are you using? Perhaps an upgrade is in order if you haven't already. Other than that, you may be stuck with it...

The Source 01-27-2006 11:16 AM

When I try to submit a reply to a thread and PM, I also have this problem. I am using IE 6.0, and Netscape 7.0. Both browsers are affected by the 'Flash' or 'Director ads. I have been trying to reply to this thread, and it keeps freezing. Everytime I replay, the Football 'Flash' ad is present.

I hope the designers realize they are not compressing their ads right... Their coding is interfearing with the forums...

mjpb3 01-27-2006 11:33 AM

uggh...

yes what MacLeodCorp wrote

trying to reply to this my browser keeps freezing
and that football ad is there...

I am using IE 6 and I also use Mozilla 5

I am guessing it's the ads, because this isn't an
all-the-time thing, but it is happening enough to
annoy the heck out of me :/

The Source 01-27-2006 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mjpb3
uggh...

yes what MacLeodCorp wrote

trying to reply to this my browser keeps freezing
and that football ad is there...

I am using IE 6 and I also use Mozilla 5

I am guessing it's the ads, because this isn't an
all-the-time thing, but it is happening enough to
annoy the heck out of me :/

I wonder if there is more to this issue. Sometimes when I quote someone, I also get freezes..

Sometimes I can't edit my posts by adding 'Bold' Italics' or 'Underline'. I wonder if they are interrelated. Otherwords, the ads could be conflicting with the source code of the site....

mjpb3 01-27-2006 11:48 AM

Yes, all of that for me too...

and PMs...

I have a PM in my folder right now which I can't reply to
because my browser keeps freezing every-single-time I try...

and it has been since 6:00 this morning, so I am guessing
the ads...

stoffe 01-27-2006 12:17 PM

I don't think there is anything you can do about this, other than using a different browser to read the forums.

Veritable Malware Ads made in flash/shockwave, causing the computer to slow to a crawl or even crash when they display, was one of the biggest reasons I felt compelled to switch to Firefox. The AdBlock extension is wonderful for dealing with this kind of thing, allowing you to get rid of disruptive ads with just a click.

(I don't think many TV viewers would put up with Ad spots disabling the remote control whenever they show, so I find it a bit amusing that these kinds of disruptive ads are concidered okay to put in the rotation on the Web. :) )

stingerhs 01-27-2006 12:21 PM

you know, this is a bit unusual to me. i'm using IE 6.0 on the computers up here at school, and i haven't had any issues with posting.

The Source 01-27-2006 12:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stingerhs
you know, this is a bit unusual to me. i'm using IE 6.0 on the computers up here at school, and i haven't had any issues with posting.

I am using Dial-Up, so that may be a problem. However, I never had this problem in the beginning, or in the last four months. This is pretty new.

Thanks for hearing us out..

I should see if there is an upgrade to the Flash and Shockwave plug-in. Maybe Macromedia did something, which fixes this issue.

stingerhs 01-27-2006 12:33 PM

^^^^
hehe, if there is one thing i like about these school computers is the bandwidth the network has. definately an improvement over dial-up.

anyways, i can say that i've experienced milder versions of this problem on my computer at home. since my home network uses a slow DSL connection, i'm guessing the issue could be a bandwidth related issue. but i doubt its the forums. d*** ads. :fist:

The Source 01-27-2006 01:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stingerhs
^^^^
hehe, if there is one thing i like about these school computers is the bandwidth the network has. definately an improvement over dial-up.

anyways, i can say that i've experienced milder versions of this problem on my computer at home. since my home network uses a slow DSL connection, i'm guessing the issue could be a bandwidth related issue. but i doubt its the forums. d*** ads. :fist:

I have NetZero Accelerated Dial-up... Every time I access a page, I start signing, "Hes going the distance, hes going for speed..."... Hehehe...

I just installed a new Shockwave version. I will see if that makes any difference.

If anyone is intrested in the latest Shockwave or Flash, here is a link:
http://www.download.com/3120-20_4-0....ave&tg=dl-2001

mjpb3 01-27-2006 05:04 PM

well, I have Bellsouth Fast Access DSL and I didn't have this
problem until about a month or so ago, then all of a sudden,
I couldn't answer PMs or make replies without freezing my
browser.

There seems to be some kind of system to it, because like I
already wrote, it doesn't happen all the time, so that is why
I assume it's the ads

I would use Firefox, or some other browser, but I just prefer IE
(old dogs, new tricks... and all that jazz ;P)

T7nowhere 01-27-2006 06:31 PM

Its the IE Privacy settings getting in the way, Once I unchecked The pop-up block I no longer had the browser freezing problem.

IE->Tools-->options-->Privacy tab--> Uncheck block pop-ups

Edit:btw if you like IE then you might like Maxthon. http://www.maxthon.com/

mjpb3 01-27-2006 08:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T7nowhere
Its the IE Privacy settings getting in the way, Once I unchecked The pop-up block I no longer had the browser freezing problem.

IE->Tools-->options-->Privacy tab--> Uncheck block pop-ups

Edit:btw if you like IE then you might like Maxthon. http://www.maxthon.com/


Ever have one of those days where you feel like a complete
fracking fool? Well, welcome to my world ;P

T7, you rock. I can't believe I didn't think of this sooner.

But, instead of turning off pop-up block, I just added LucusForums
to my exceptions list.

Menu > Tools > Internet Options > Privacy >Pop-Up Blocker >
Settings > Address of the Website to allow > Type in
www.lucasforums.com

Thanks!

Edit: Dang!!! I wrote too soon. I just had another freeze.
Argghh!

JediKnight707 01-29-2006 06:42 PM

This used to happen to me, but I think that it was becuase of the size of it. Like, if I try to send something with like 5+ images, it freezes.

The Distorted 03-01-2006 06:10 PM

I've got the same problem too - I just tried the suggestions in this thread, but still, it locks up the window I just tried to post in.

I've even done small posts before and it's frozen, and yet I've also done relatively large posts also and (finally) gotten through, without changing A THING.

I've also had extended periods with no problems, and others with constant problems.

Seriously - I have NO problems such as this kind with ANY other forums what-so-ever and I've experienced this problem on two different computers, each with completely different internet service providers, connection-type and hardware and software installed.

I'm convinced it's something to do with this message board - maybe not directly, but at the very least then, to do with compatibility issues.

Darth333 03-02-2006 12:00 AM

This has something to do with the ads. Somehow, the script halts until after the ads have loaded. However it happens only when you use Internet Explorer. With Firefox everything is fine.

Edit: Also, if you use the quick reply, it won't freeze, even if you use IE.

3yks 03-02-2006 01:30 AM

Yet another reason why everybody should use FireFox.

The Source 03-02-2006 01:51 PM

I don't think there should be a required browser for this forum. What I do think is that the problems needs to be taken care of. Someone has to find out why the bound submit box is having conflicts with the ads.

The Distorted 03-03-2006 02:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MacLeodCorp
I don't think there should be a required browser for this forum. What I do think is that the problems needs to be taken care of. Someone has to find out why the bound submit box is having conflicts with the ads.

Yes, I agree. I did download firefox and that works fine with this place now, but it's just the principle of the matter that remains - why should we have to sort it out on our end, when it's clearly something that effects at least quite a few people? And to download such a program just for one message board? Luckily, I have a very high-speed internet connection, so downloading firefox was no real problem at all, but what about the people who are using dial-up connections? Or even those who are using a public computer (and thus do not have the authority to download new software)? That's not fair, IMO.

Darth333 03-03-2006 01:44 PM

The forums have been optimized for viewing with firefox. Nevertheless, the staff has been looking at it a while ago and they found no way of fixing this IE issue without preventing the ads to load completely (and affecting the revenues thereof without which running these forums would be impossible).

The Source 03-03-2006 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Darth333
The forums have been optimized for viewing with firefox. Nevertheless, the staff has been looking at it a while ago and they found no way of fixing this IE issue without preventing the ads to load completely (and affecting the revenues thereof without which running these forums would be impossible).

Well, at least they looked into it. Thanks for the information Darth333.

The Doctor 04-25-2006 04:07 PM

Alright, if the site has been optomized for Firefox, then I'm screwed. I can't use Firefox - my Firewall won't work with it. Unless Firefox has its own firewall...

DarthMaul v.1/2 04-26-2006 02:12 AM

RE: Internet Explorer Freezes
 
Hello all! :dmaul3:

Well, my browser is consistently freezing now! :firemad: :firemad: :firemad:

I have made lucasforums allowable in my browser options, so hopefully that fixes the problem. Although I must admit that I don't know why IE is causing this problem, as I have been using IE 6.0 as my browser since I joined this site. Only in the last week has this been happening to me, and my posting habits and frequency of posts has not changed:

- So, I am doing everything EXACTLY the same as I did 2 weeks ago - there were no problems then, so why now? Did the conversion to Firefox happen here this week? Because if not, then I don't see where the problem lies... it don't add up, and I don't like things that don't add up! :mauls:

Anyways, I have read the posts here, does anyone have more info?

- DM.005 :maul5:

stoffe 04-26-2006 05:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DarthMaul v.1/2
Well, my browser is consistently freezing now!
I don't know why IE is causing this problem, as I have been using IE 6.0 as my browser since I joined this site. Only in the last week has this been happening to me, and my posting habits and frequency of posts has not changed:
- So, I am doing everything EXACTLY the same as I did 2 weeks ago - there were no problems then, so why now?

I would guess it's because the Ad banners have been changed recently by the advertising companies. Some of those banners are more like malware than commercials, interfering with the operation of the site with some browsers.

(In general terms such problems aren't just confined to IE, though it seems to be the case at this site. I remember a few other sites I've been visiting where the banner ads were getting Firefox on its knees, slowing down the whole computer to a crawl while they were displayed. After I AdBlocked those banners things returned to normal.)

Reclaimer 04-26-2006 07:26 AM

I run IE and don't get any type of freezing. So I don't know why I'm the only one not experiencing it.

mjpb3 04-26-2006 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reclaimer
I run IE and don't get any type of freezing. So I don't know why I'm the only one not experiencing it.

Probably because when I made my original post there were some annoying ads on the site that would cause freezing (not just for me, but for others too), but since then there have been only a few instances of ads that have frozen my browser and usually it's from responding to posts, not making new ones.

Also, I still have occasional freezes with PMs, but I now know to only answer those using Mozilla (when I remember, of course :)).

Darth333 04-26-2006 10:07 AM

Note that the ads change depending on your location (but for some reason I sometimes get UK ads :confused: ).

Point Man 05-06-2006 09:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Darth333
Note that the ads change depending on your location (but for some reason I sometimes get UK ads :confused: ).

Watch out! The Brits are trying to retake Canada :king1:

Canderous_ordo1 05-07-2006 05:42 AM

im useing a new version of internet explorer. think its called ie srec runtime ver 10 and it doesent freze ever or play up the only problem is that you need a very fast comp to run it


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.