LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   JA Modeling (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=535)
-   -   Ok I need help (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=165426)

magna mandaloe 05-28-2006 11:48 PM

Ok I need help
 
I have been trying to make a GLM for new models with that MD3 View Program (MD3 to GLM Model Viewer) But every time I try to apply the skin the Damn thing WILL NOT READ IT. Can any one help me?

Inyri 05-29-2006 12:13 AM

What kind of error do you get when you try to apply it?

magna mandaloe 05-29-2006 08:49 AM

Im getting the error that it can't find the Texture. and I can't Import a .Skin file.

Psyk0Sith 05-29-2006 07:21 PM

1.Make sure your .skin file has the same name as your .md3 file

Let's say i make a saber called psyko.md3, the .skin file will be named psyko.skin and contain the name of the model followed by the texture path like this:

saber_w,models/weapons2/psyko/saber.jpg

2.saber_w is the default name given to your object in 3d max (check the name in md3viewer)

place the .skin and texture in the model's path, in this case:
models/weapons2/psyko/saber.jpg

3.Load the model into md3view and import the skin (go to file then import skin), then write a .glm or .md3 with the new skin applied.

magna mandaloe 06-03-2006 12:19 AM

ok thats it I tryed and tryed again this piece of horse S*** will not work that I don't want to try to make a model. It will give me to constant error it cannot find the textures and that their are parts not named l_leg or r_leg or anything else. im tierd of it I don't want to try working on it anymore and im going to just dump it on some one else to do it.
Its tiering upsetting and no longer worth my patience. If some one else wants to try to get it to work tell me you Email and ill just send it to you. Then send it back to me as a PK3. Im not working 6 more hours on this thing.

Psyk0Sith 06-03-2006 01:12 AM

What exactly are you trying to make? "l_leg" is usually associated with character or maybe a vehicle...those require a few more steps before it works.

MD3 view is a simple tool, not a modeling software.

magna mandaloe 06-03-2006 05:06 AM

im making a Player model not a weapon. I have modelled it in Gmax and used the MD3 Exporter.

Any help given is really appresheated

Psyk0Sith 06-03-2006 12:03 PM

Ahhh see, you should have mentioned that in the beginning ;).

For a player model you need 3D studio max 4.x+ (or XSI mod tools). Gmax or any other software is useless.

magna mandaloe 06-03-2006 01:10 PM

ah that clears up everything thank you.

What do I do in 3DS to get it to work?

Psyk0Sith 06-04-2006 12:36 PM

You need to do a bunch of crap, see my website's tutorials section:
http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat/

Read the jk2/jk3 guide carefully, dont hesitate to ask questions if you're having problems.

magna mandaloe 06-05-2006 03:51 PM

and non of the utilities will work with Max 8 that are on your site correct?

Psyk0Sith 06-05-2006 08:17 PM

Hmm that i cannot verify for now, but you might be right.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.