LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Forum Help & Feedback Center (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=217)
-   -   Submit post/reply bug. (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=168620)

Det. Bart Lasiter 08-05-2006 12:33 PM

Submit post/reply bug.
 
The function to submit posts starts counting the characters in the post after all vB tags have been closed. It's more of a nuisance than a bug, but I'd rather not have to tack crap on to the end of my post(s) in order to submit it.

ChAiNz.2da 08-06-2006 08:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmac7142
The function to submit posts starts counting the characters in the post after all vB tags have been closed. It's more of a nuisance than a bug, but I'd rather not have to tack crap on to the end of my post(s) in order to submit it.

I had/have this problem when I end a post with a quote ;)

Try tapping your spacebar a few times.. seems to work for me (some of the time at least) :D

That or I'll stick a smiley or a "-ChAiNz.2da" at the end...

Joshi 08-06-2006 09:24 AM

Exactly how small are these posts you're talking about?

Det. Bart Lasiter 08-06-2006 03:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joshi
Exactly how small are these posts you're talking about?

A few sentences, but as ChAiNz said, if you end them with a quote it doesn't matter.

Thrik 08-06-2006 04:50 PM

I'm not able to reproduce this bug. The minimum character amount is only two, so it should be pretty much impossible to hit it unless you're just posting a single emoticon or quoting somebody without comment, in which case you should reevaluate whether it's worth posting anyway.

I've just made a post with a bunch of text and then a quote (ie: the quote was the last thing in the post) and it let me post it fine. What exactly are you inputting to cause this so I can try to do the same? And when it stops you, does the javascript alert box pop up or does it take you to a separate LucasForums page with the error?

Det. Bart Lasiter 08-09-2006 11:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thrik
I'm not able to reproduce this bug. The minimum character amount is only two, so it should be pretty much impossible to hit it unless you're just posting a single emoticon or quoting somebody without comment, in which case you should reevaluate whether it's worth posting anyway.

I've just made a post with a bunch of text and then a quote (ie: the quote was the last thing in the post) and it let me post it fine. What exactly are you inputting to cause this so I can try to do the same? And when it stops you, does the javascript alert box pop up or does it take you to a separate LucasForums page with the error?

This post was the one that prompted me to post this. I added the "...SLI" after in order to post it, otherwise I got a JavaScript alert about not meeting the 2 character minimum.

swphreak 08-09-2006 01:16 PM

Quote:

Does this first quote make all the difference?
I am writing a lot of things in between the posts.

Quote:

I'm wondering if this doesn't effect us because we're Admins?
Yep. I got the message as well. I don't know if there's anything that can be done about it, but how many people end a post with a quote?




Yay, I did something kinda useful \o/

Joshi 08-09-2006 01:27 PM

Writing things without a beginning quote

Quote:

quote
Hmm, so I guess the beginning quote does matter. Very odd. Perhaps the code see's the post beginning with a [ quote] tag and a post ending with a [/ quote] tag and the counter doesn't count anything inbetween even though they're two different quotes with text between them.

ChAiNz.2da 08-09-2006 01:41 PM

I think you're right... because this is the style of posting I recently started using for SWK reports. And it, of course, ends with a quote, but not a starting quote (regular text)...

http://www.lucasforums.com/showpost....&postcount=120

Thrik 08-10-2006 06:50 AM

Joshi could be right, but whatever the case it looks like we're dealing with a general flaw with the vB3 BBCode engine and I'm not sure there's that much we can do until we move up to the next major version, though I'll forward it along anyway.

swphreak 08-14-2006 09:52 PM

Just thought I'd throw this in, I tested this with another forum running 3.5.2, and it wasn't a problem.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.