LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Dedicated Server (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=334)
-   -   Map rotation, help! (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=178061)

darkecho05 05-02-2007 02:00 PM

Map rotation, help!
 
hi, i have these change map settings in my server but when i start the server it doesn't begin with the first map, which is t1_sour it begins with the last one, map vjun3, and when vjun3 is finished it changes map to the regular maps, like mp/ffa1 then mp/ffa2 and so on, it skips the maps i have entered, does anybody know how i can fix this? really appreciate it

set g_autoMapCycle 1

map t1_sour
map t1_surprise
map t1_fatal
map t1_danger
map t1_rail
map hoth2
map hoth3
map t2_rancor
map t2_trip
map t2_wedge
map t2_rogue
map t2_dpred
map t3_rift
map t3_stamp
map t3_hevil
map t3_byss
map t3_bounty
map vjun1
map vjun2
map vjun3

jedi-Guard 05-02-2007 04:39 PM

Well thats wrong what you have typed there.
it starts to load t1_sour and loads next and next and so on, and ends on vjun3.
Keep looking in the forum, you will find an example, i just cant remember the write scritping for it.
May the force be with us all, especially me.

acdcfanbill 05-03-2007 04:14 AM

read what i wrote in the other forum and don't cross post please.
http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=178059


Quote:

Originally Posted by acdcfanbill
That's not how servers work. You want to turn off the automap cycle, because that will just cycle the raven maps. Also, when you do all those map commands in a row, the server loads each map successively, ending with vjun3, which is why you see it as the 'first' map.

To setup a custom map cycle do something like this...

//start

seta g_automapcycle 0

set map1 "map yourfirstmap; set nextmap vstr map2;"
set map2 "map yoursecondmap; set nextmap vstr map3;"
set map3 "map yourthirdmap; set nextmap vstr map4;"
.......
set map# "map yourlastmap; set nextmap vstr map1;"

vstr map1

//end

substituting in all the correct names and extrapolating out that pattern for however many maps you want.

edit: and while im on about that, try looking through threads before you post. this information was available here.

jedi-Guard 05-03-2007 05:51 AM

Cant you explain me the rotation, thats one thing i might never understand by looking at it.
why have vstr map1 at the end
when you have this
set map# "map yourlastmap; set nextmap vstr map1;"

acdcfanbill 05-03-2007 11:16 PM

'vstr' is a way of telling the engine your going to execute a command(s) thats stuck in a variable basically. technically it stands for variable string.

so what this type of thing does is, it makes the first varible, which i called 'map1'. this variable holds all the information inside the double quotes. that way, when you 'vstr' said varible, it will execute the lines given.

lets look at that first line now.

set map1 "map yourfirstmap; set nextmap vstr map2;"

we know what map1 is, it's the variable that gets set to the stuff after it in quotes, "map yourfirstmap; set nextmap vstr map2;". So we need to know what happens when you vstr that varible. the first thing that happens, is that it does 'map yourfirstmap;' right away. you should note that a semi colon ';' is a way of putting a line break, or two commands, on one line.
The next line says 'set nextmap vstr map2' which means that the variable nextmap, which is what the server loads after the current map gets finished, is set to 'vstr map2'. since we know what vstr does, we need to know what map2 is. but that got set when the server started because all the lines in yoru cfg are executed. so map2 is actually set too...

set map2 "map yoursecondmap; set nextmap vstr map3;"

do you see how that it works?

If you are unclear about how it works still, feel free to keep asking questions.

I should note that all the map# variables get set when the server starts, because it runs through the .cfg sequentially, setting all the map# varibles to their respective settings, and then it hits 'vstr map1' at the bottom. this is what starts the map rotation, it sets the first map with its 'map yourfirstmap' part, and then sets the 'nextmap' variable for the server to use after the current map is finished.

jedi-Guard 05-04-2007 02:35 AM

Is this right ?

//start

seta g_automapcycle 0

set map1 "map mp/duel1; set nextmap vstr map2;"
set map2 "map mp/duel2; set nextmap vstr map3;"
set map3 "map mp/duel3; set nextmap vstr map4;"
set map# "map mp/duel10; set nextmap vstr map1;"

vstr map1

//end

Why autocycle 0 ?

acdcfanbill 05-04-2007 12:37 PM

the 'map#' should be map4, otherwise it looks good to me. the reason you set autocycle off, is because with auto cycle, the server cycles through it's own map selection. which means, it does all the base maps. Which is fine, if thats what you want, but you probably want to pick and choose maps for a cycle, or you want to use custom ones. thats why we are changing the 'nextmap' variable ourselves.

jedi-Guard 05-05-2007 04:47 PM

Yes of course map# has to be map4, just a mistake from my side.
Ok i get it, thank you for your help.
:)

darkecho05 05-06-2007 09:52 AM

tnx 4 your help acdcfanbill, p.s dark tranquillity rocks \o/

jedi-Guard 05-25-2007 03:01 PM

I cant get my map rotation to work
// Testing Map Cycle

set map1 "map mp/duel1; set nextmap vstr map3;"
set map3 "map mp/duel3; set nextmap vstr map4;"
set map4 "map mp/duel4; set nextmap vstr map7;"
set map7 "map mp/duel7; set nextmap vstr map8;"
set map8 "map mp/duel8; set nextmap vstr map9;"
set map9 "map mp/duel9; set nextmap vstr map10;"
set map10 "map mp/duel10; set nextmap vstr map1;"
vstr map1

//end

i might have autocycle have disabled, does it have to be enabled if i have a list ?

darkecho05 05-29-2007 04:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jedi-Guard
I cant get my map rotation to work
// Testing Map Cycle

set map1 "map mp/duel1; set nextmap vstr map3;"
set map3 "map mp/duel3; set nextmap vstr map4;"
set map4 "map mp/duel4; set nextmap vstr map7;"
set map7 "map mp/duel7; set nextmap vstr map8;"
set map8 "map mp/duel8; set nextmap vstr map9;"
set map9 "map mp/duel9; set nextmap vstr map10;"
set map10 "map mp/duel10; set nextmap vstr map1;"
vstr map1

//end

i might have autocycle have disabled, does it have to be enabled if i have a list ?

I see flaus in this, here is what you do..

set map1 "map mp/duel1; set nextmap vstr map2;"
set map2 "map mp/duel3; set nextmap vstr map3;"
set map3 "map mp/duel4; set nextmap vstr map4;"
set map4 "map mp/duel7; set nextmap vstr map5;"
set map5 "map mp/duel8; set nextmap vstr map6;"
set map6 "map mp/duel9; set nextmap vstr map7;"
set map7 "map mp/duel10; set nextmap vstr map1;"
vstr map1

/

That's it, now it should work, compare your's before and after you will notice what i changed to make it work

jedi-Guard 05-29-2007 06:32 AM

Ok, i think i see my mistake now.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.