LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Dedicated Server (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=334)
-   -   Fake pings (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=178863)

darkecho05 05-29-2007 08:10 AM

Fake pings
 
Just wondering, is it possible to fake a ping? The hoster always has a zero ping, so the players which break rules/crash servers.. always has the upper hand.

jedi-Guard 06-01-2007 03:58 AM

I understand how annoying it is, but you must go and look for unofficial patches for fixing your server.
Try to close all ports, leave only whats needed for Jedi Academy Server.
Keep an eye on your console directly from the server.
Enable WinXP Firewall and patch your WinXP from Windows Update.
Use virus scanner, but not a heavy one. I use free-av.com ( freeware & doesnt detect spyware and adware, but it detects rest).
Good luck

Spiderz 06-21-2007 01:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by darkecho05
Just wondering, is it possible to fake a ping? The hoster always has a zero ping, so the players which break rules/crash servers.. always has the upper hand.

Maybe its smart to turn sv_allowdownload off too, so they cant download ur server.cfg (its a bug..) and get the rcon password.

Kurgan 04-14-2009 10:16 AM

It's possible to give the bots on your server fake pings, but I've never heard of someone being able to fake their own ping (as a human player in the game).

The "Zero ping" thing only occurs if you're hosting a non-dedicated server. Otherwise you'll have a ping just like everybody else. On a non-dedicated server, the host player always has an advantage (however slight) from his zero ping, that's just how it is.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.