LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Tech support (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=703)
-   -   hey guys, returning vet here, trying to get in the game!! (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=180431)

jayhaf44 07-13-2007 10:58 AM

hey guys, returning vet here, trying to get in the game!!
 
Hey everyone, new here but an old swg vet from day one! loved teh game back then played for years and met some good people along the way. havent played sionce the NGE not because of it just quit before itcame out due to RL stuff and didn't come back because i missed my TKM lol. But the game looks like its going in a good direction and i want to go back to my virtual home away from home.

but.........

i ran out and bought the box because i hate waiting for downloads, got it loaded up and download the patches press play and nothing!!
it says launching game and then i get a small balck window that says something in the corner but flashes too fast to read, and im left looking at my desktop and nothing happens. i read the tech forums on the official site and updated directx and my Nvidia Geforce 6600 LE drivers to most recent versions and it still doesn't work! also reinstalled game a couple times. I have played many other mmo's on the comp, EQ2, vanguard beta, guild wars, EVE, ect... they all run fine?!

also im an idoit and can't find the start new topic button on the offcial forums to post there too, lol!

thanks in advance for your help

Rogue15 07-13-2007 11:22 AM

Welcome back man! I don't know if I know you or not (i'm on starsider as Kioet' Csuhen) not sure what the problem is with your game, did you try launching it from the main swg folder?

also it almost sounds like a firewall problem, only when i get the thing that flashes i am screwed because it freezes at the black screen, so check your firewall. (usually happenes every time game is updated i have to taskswitch out until it gives me that message that pops and goes away and i gotta say 'allow' it's so annoying)

DarthMaulUK 07-13-2007 11:22 AM

hmm you will need to post yr dxdiag. What operating system are you running?

jayhaf44 07-13-2007 12:16 PM

Thanks for the replys guys!

i actually playe don ahazi and Kauri : Jayhaf o'han

im running Windows xp sp2 with a nvidia geforce 6600 LE

i just downloaded and installed new driver for the vid card and downloaded and instaleed the newest directx version. but i can copy all the stuff here when i get back from work.

jayhaf44 07-13-2007 12:18 PM

also i only have th windows xp firewall and ahve tried it with that off also. and have made sure it was in the exceptions for the firewall.

DarthMaulUK 07-13-2007 12:57 PM

cool. i will be home soon and online through out the night. And playing galaxies. Just to be sure, try a full scan with Galaxies first.

Also, i will look at some previous threads for help. You might need to customise your graphic options before launching the game. But i will dig up that thread within a couple of hours

jayhaf44 07-13-2007 01:15 PM

awesome thank you!

when i finally get into the gme whats agood server to start a new toon on?

Rogue15 07-13-2007 01:18 PM

yeah in the meantime you should check out http://www.swgalaxies.net and look through the guides and everything to familiarize yourself with the new stuff. There is a new GCW guide that I just found (was put up yesterday i guess) as well as several other nice guides to help you get started. :)

jayhaf44 07-13-2007 07:40 PM

hey Darth here is my dxdiag stuff


------------------
Time of this report: 7/13/2007, 18:36:55
Machine name: THIRDSTRIKEONE
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: n/a
System Model: n/a
BIOS: n/a
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 2800+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.8GHz
Memory: 1024MB RAM
Page File: 298MB used, 1447MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

also:

Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 6600 LE
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 6600 LE
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0142&SUBSYS_C3633842&REV_A2
Display Memory: 256.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (16 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.9424 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 4/19/2007 13:26:00, 4543616 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: No

im a newb and dont know what have of it means lol

DarthMaulUK 07-14-2007 04:55 AM

Before launching Galaxies, lets try and customise the graphics. To do this, login as normal using the SWG client. DON'T LAUNCH THE GAME!

Enter your user name and password. Then select GAME OPTIONS on the left hand side. This will bring up a control panel.

Click the GRAPHICS tab and try the following - Then tick these boxes
Disable Bump Mapping
Use Low Level textures

Try that. then log out, then restart the game and continue, keeping your fingers crossed. If it doesnt work, come back to me.

DMUK


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.