LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Dark Forces Mod (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=396)
-   -   6 Level Final Version (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=185737)

Darth_Linux 01-28-2008 02:27 AM

6 Level Final Version
 
I'm uploading the final version to my FileFront account tonight. I'm having problems with the jediknight.net ftp account, so I'll post the link to the download over at FileFront as soon as it's ready. It's 428MB to download and includes all the movies, menu fixes, missing textures, new map versions, etc.

stay tuned . . .

-BLaCKouT- 01-28-2008 04:25 PM

Ooh you star :D

Darth_Linux 01-28-2008 05:40 PM

Please go to http://darkforces.jediknight.net/index2.shtml for NEWS and the download link(s).

ryu91 01-28-2008 08:39 PM

Ok there's a problem when trying to load it I get a bad mode error from JA's console and this has stooped my mind

Darth_Linux 01-28-2008 09:36 PM

the version of dfmod_2008.zip dated 1/28/2008 has an extra nested directory in the pk3 file. Delete your DFMOD installation (or remove "build" from the pk3 internal directory structure and rename "autoexec.cfg.sam" to "autoexec.cfg") and download the corrected version with a date of 1/29/2008. It should be ready to download around 7PM, -8GMT, 1/29/2008.

sorry for the inconvience:(

Michael_TSM 01-28-2008 11:52 PM

Lovely! Are you going to put a news item about the release over at Moddb?

CrisG 01-29-2008 01:12 AM

THANK YOU and all the team for a fantastic achievement, it is wonderful to have DF AND a mod for JKA, you will long be remembered by those of us who follow the Force. thanks so much, I know how much work this must have taken you all and the dedication to bring it home for us all. Thank you again. There will be celebrating at the Academy tonight. :)

Darth_Linux 01-29-2008 01:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael_TSM
Lovely! Are you going to put an news item about the release over at Moddb?


I s'pose I should do that :-)

ryu91 01-29-2008 08:36 AM

Darth_Linux the original release of the 6 level demo worked very well for me in 640x480 with everything in High Quality and on Windows Vista. But when I start up JA by the instructions you mentioned in the readme it starts up giving me The original Jedi Knight Jedi Acedemy startup screen then it crashes giving me the bad mode error.

9811 01-29-2008 08:42 AM

I've bbeen watching this for years - 1st, I really want to say thanks and it's great to see it get as far as this - 2nd - I want to echo ryu91's problem above - I tried to load the mod, got this error on the console:

FSH_FOpenFile: bad mode

Checked video settings per Darth linux's suggestion, and also tried loading the mod via the mod menu and via a shortcut I built on my desktop (same set up as the previous demos).

I also noticed 3 of the cfg files have a .sam extension - is that correct?

Sorry for the barrage of questions/comments... just really anticipated this release (a lot).

JKLE_Cougar 01-29-2008 11:52 AM

Wow I'm downloading it now I had to find JKA and install it... kinda makes me feel like a traitor to my JK and MotS buddies but I just HAVE to play this :)

Darth_Linux 01-29-2008 06:42 PM

Okay, there are two mistakes in the final version - an extra nested folder in the pk3 file called "build" and autoexec.cfg.sam

I'm uploading a new version to the web servers. My apologies to all for the 428MB mistake!!

Darth_Linux 01-30-2008 01:00 AM

fixed version is up now and ready to download. Again, I'm sorry about flubbing that upload. I shoulda checked it out first, but I'd checked it so many times in a slightly different configuration and when I made the PK3, it included an extra directory that I overlooked.

again, enjoy!

Pahricida 01-30-2008 08:36 AM

I also first heard of this ambitious project 5 long years ago.
I'm looking forward to playing this when I get home.

Also I am quite sure that the assets you have produced over the past years will inspire people to make some new content.

Good Luck with your future projects.

Salv 01-30-2008 09:13 AM

Enjoy!

9811 01-30-2008 04:29 PM

Cool - and thanks for the update (I'm downloading it now...)

grangana 02-04-2008 06:27 AM

Many Thanks! Good Job! A pleasure to play!
Why i can't find this mod on Jk3 Files ?

Ham Yoyo 02-04-2008 10:16 AM

I've been following the Dark Forces Mod for 5 years. I'm so glad the 6 level version has been released. I just downloaded it but haven't had a chance to play it yet. I can't wait to start on it. I've been waiting for it for 5 years. JA and JO are my favorite games.

All hail Darth Linux! You deserve a medal while celebration music is playing.

Darth_Linux 02-04-2008 08:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ham Yoyo
I've been following the Dark Forces Mod for 5 years. I'm so glad the 6 level version has been released. I just downloaded it but haven't had a chance to play it yet. I can't wait to start on it. I've been waiting for it for 5 years. JA and JO are my favorite games.

All hail Darth Linux! You deserve a medal while celebration music is playing.


thanks!

Wraith_3 02-04-2008 10:35 PM

I installed the mod and put all the files in the correct locations, but it doesn't seem to work correctly. I assume the new command line is supposed to go right to the mod, but the only way I can access it is to use the "Load Mod" screen in JKA. It comes up with a menu, but no text on the menus. I managed to click around and start a new game, but the briefing screen also has no text. Here's how the command line is, maybe I have it wrong:
"C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\JediAcademy.exe" "+set fs_game dfmod"

Darth_Linux 02-05-2008 10:07 AM

if you just extracted the zip file without changing anything, you will want to set the file system to look for dfmod_2008 instead of just dfmod.

My shourtcut looks like this:
F:\games\ja\GameData\jasp.exe +set fs_game dfmod_2008

NO quotation marks anywhere . . . also note that the binary is "jasp.exe" not "jediacademy.exe".

HTH

Wraith_3 02-06-2008 01:01 AM

Okay I'll try that. Maybe since the launcher is popping up that's stopping it from loading. Thanks!

jedimike2234 02-06-2008 06:18 PM

wow the level of immersion was just amazing,thank you,Darth_Linux and the dark forces team,this was just..amazing,fest,gromas mines and the detention levels were large beyong scope and i really felt like i was breaking in to these imperial installations and bases.i did want to ask i did try out the other levels..like robotics and narshada and they were mostly done right?i mean apart from missing textures,they seemed to be all there.the fuelstation even had enemies waiting for you when you reach the station itself.what as missing from the robotics level and the narshada,in terms of finishing?but again thank you guys for transporting us back to those days from dark forces...and making us remember those long hours playing but now with better graphics.

Jedi Marso 02-07-2008 02:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jedimike2234
wow the level of immersion was just amazing,thank you,Darth_Linux and the dark forces team,this was just..amazing,fest,gromas mines and the detention levels were large beyong scope and i really felt like i was breaking in to these imperial installations and bases.i did want to ask i did try out the other levels..like robotics and narshada and they were mostly done right?i mean apart from missing textures,they seemed to be all there.the fuelstation even had enemies waiting for you when you reach the station itself.what as missing from the robotics level and the narshada,in terms of finishing?but again thank you guys for transporting us back to those days from dark forces...and making us remember those long hours playing but now with better graphics.

Time out. Stop the press! You mean there's a way to access the other, unfinished levels as well? Please share...

jedimike2234 02-07-2008 03:27 PM

well i found 4 levels,but there are no textures for most of the levels,i hope the team doesnt get angry,but in the level build there are the levels robotics,narshada,fuelstat and jabship.just type in map robotics and you should see a large part of the level,at least the outside,and the same with narshada,with that one i no clipped around but a large portion of the map is there.with the fuelststion its only the begining,and with jabbas ship again its only the begining,the only one with enemies is the fuelstation.if you also look there are shaders for impcity,the executor and also the last level called arc,which i take it means arc hammer.but it loooks like the levels robotics and narshada were almost completed,at least seems to be almost hence my question above.hpe that helps.

DFgeoff 02-07-2008 08:46 PM

i remember screenies of ramsees hed a while back, is that one totally gone?

Zerimar Nyliram 02-07-2008 09:06 PM

So will the "give all" cheat give you all of the Dark Forces weapons or the Jedi Academy weapons? That was one thing that annoyed me about the three-level demo: I had to keep trying to remember to not to use the "give all" cheat because it did away with all the mod weapons and gave me the default ones. So I had to bind a quick key for "give ammo" and try to remember to use that instead of my "give all" quick key.

And yes, we all know that cheating is bad, blah blah blah. So please, no lectures. :)

JeneralJarJar 02-08-2008 04:02 AM

The Final is great guys, excellent work and cheers on getting this far. Hey, the "extras" link on the frontpage doesn't work. Any chance these files are getting up somewhere?

Darth_Linux 02-08-2008 10:14 AM

Extras link is working for me and others . . . try again!

JeneralJarJar 02-09-2008 01:08 AM

Hmmm... I've been trying for several days but no luck. Perhaps I'll try from a different ISP.

Ham Yoyo 02-11-2008 04:48 AM

I just got through playing the Dark Forces Mod tonight and it is totally awesome. The level of immersion was just amazing. Each of the last three levels took me close to 2 hours each to complete. The levels took me all over the place. The last week the main thing that has been on my mind is the Dark Forces Mod and Dark Forces. I borrowed my old Dark Forces game from my nephew and installed it and played Ramsees Hed. It was the first time in 12 years I played Dark Forces. The graphics are so bad its real hard on your eyes but the levels are very well done. I've compared some of the Dark Forces Mod with the old Dark Forces game. There are some differences in some of the levels. But with the JA engine those were some necessary changes. Thanks again for the awesome job with this Mod.

hhunter6 02-11-2008 08:21 AM

not sure if this was fixed but the text still doesn't show up on the menu screen. Is anyone else still having this problem?

Salv 02-11-2008 09:26 AM

Quote:

Thanks again for the awesome job with this Mod.
Thanks for your support Ham Yoyo, love reading your posts :)

Pikmin 02-13-2008 12:22 PM

Is this the Final version of the mod? Meaning there done with it?

Forceboat 02-13-2008 01:35 PM

Yep. Until a bunch of people would be willing to come forward and complete the last four levels, this is the end of it.

DarkStarMojo 02-13-2008 02:01 PM

There are eight levels left in the game. Quite a bit of work when you consider how many models and textures still need to be finished.

But it is doable. ;)

SotE_Xizor1 02-14-2008 07:00 PM

I would like to help! The catch? I know nothing about editing, and all that's in my head are ideas. I am extremely disappointed, though, that after playing through 6 levels that roughly look and play nothing alike to the original (apart from Secbase), the 4 unfinished maps present in the game are like carbon copies using JA graphics.

hhunter6 02-21-2008 10:14 AM

I finally got the setup to work, and all i can say is WOW! You guys have done a remarkable job with this. Thank you for your hard work. maybe one day a group will finish the great work you guys have started. untill that day i will alwyas enjoy this mod. Thanks again guys

DarkStarMojo 02-21-2008 11:29 AM

You're most welcome.

Fafnir_6 02-22-2008 05:21 PM

Yeah. Wow is right! I just about fell out my chair when I saw first briefing with the MIDI music and it got better form there. Dfmod is godly! I will try to help complete it.

Fafnir_6


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.