LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Whispering Rock Lakeside Chat (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=601)
-   -   Need help with direct3d (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=187361)

pngnman 03-25-2008 06:19 PM

Need help with direct3d
 
Ugh. Im trying to play my gavorite game ever (psychonauts) and this messgae pops up right before it starts that says:

The game was unabl to create the Direct3D device.
Please to ensure your video drivers are installed properly.

Can someone on here please tell me what I need to do to play psychonauts agin. I signed up to this community just so I could ask this question.

Whoops, I put this in the wrong place. Like I said, I'm new here. Could a moderator move this please?

Jove 03-25-2008 08:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pngnman
Ugh. Im trying to play my gavorite game ever (psychonauts) and this messgae pops up right before it starts that says:

The game was unabl to create the Direct3D device.
Please to ensure your video drivers are installed properly.

Can someone on here please tell me what I need to do to play psychonauts agin. I signed up to this community just so I could ask this question.

Whoops, I put this in the wrong place. Like I said, I'm new here. Could a moderator move this please?

Were you able to play Psychonauts on this machine before? If so you made need to re-install your video drivers, but that's tricky and could leave your system without video.

Here's some of the standard stuff that's a little safer to try, but anything you do to Windows could leave the system unusable. Be warned.

If on WinXP be at Service Pack 2. If on Vista, configure Psychonauts to run in a WinXP SP2 environment.

Upgrade to the latest drivers for your video and sound cards.

Upgrade to latest version of DirectX.

Run Scandisk a few times, then defragment the hard drive.

pngnman 03-26-2008 05:09 PM

Thanks, I'll try that. I hope it works!

Jove 03-27-2008 12:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pngnman
Thanks, I'll try that. I hope it works!

Let us know what you try and how it works out, please.

Don't forget to patch Psychonauts to the latest version.
http://www.psychonauts.com/psychic.htm

Good luck.

pngnman 03-27-2008 04:20 PM

Well, I tried to get the latest version of my video card (radeon X300) but right as the download was a bout to finish there was some erroe so it quit. Then, I tried to get the service pack and that also didn't work. I'll get the patch and see if anything happens. By the way, I don't know if this makes a difference, but I used GameTap to get my version of psychonauts...

Jove 03-27-2008 09:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pngnman
Well, I tried to get the latest version of my video card (radeon X300) but right as the download was a bout to finish there was some erroe so it quit. Then, I tried to get the service pack and that also didn't work. I'll get the patch and see if anything happens. By the way, I don't know if this makes a difference, but I used GameTap to get my version of psychonauts...

Get in touch with Gametap and see what they say.

pngnman 03-28-2008 09:00 PM

Alright, its all good. I bought psychonuats on ebay for 3 bucks! It should work now.

Jove 03-28-2008 10:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pngnman
Alright, its all good. I bought psychonuats on ebay for 3 bucks! It should work now.

I hope so, but it sounds like your system may be having other troubles than just GameTap. Good luck and let us know how it goes.

martmeister 04-05-2008 08:08 AM

or maybe it's insulted that you only paid $3 for it. Tsk, tsk. Everybody KNOWS the high life of Psychonauts retail was the $9.99 Best Buy rack. Sheesh.

pngnman 04-06-2008 01:50 PM

Alright, it worked.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.