LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   General Tech Discussion (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=691)
-   -   Winzip Self Extractor Problems (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=191863)

Astor 09-02-2008 11:44 AM

Winzip Self Extractor Problems
 
Hi all.

I've got a demo of Space Siege that i'm trying to play, but it's using a Self Extractor.

The problem is that the drive it extracts to doesn't have enough space for it go to. Is there a way of changing the location that the files are extracted to?

I've tried looking for information, but couldn't find very much.

Thanks, Astor.

ChAiNz.2da 09-02-2008 11:48 AM

Odd that it has a pre-set extraction path that you can't edit.

Is it extracting it to the drive where the file lives (likes it's supposed to) or do they have it set to self-install in some wonky c:/path/path/path?

Astor 09-02-2008 11:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChAiNz.2da (Post 2520022)
Odd that it has a pre-set extraction path that you can't edit.

Is it extracting it to the drive where the file lives (likes it's supposed to) or do they have it set to self-install in some wonky c:/path/path/path?

It always extracts to my system drive, with all the windows information on it. But that drive is small because it was designed to hold only system information.

If I could get into the bloody thing I could tell you what path it has, but it won't even let me select a destination.

EDIT: I have fixed it - I copied the .exe from the disc to another drive, and right clicked 'extract files here' with WinRAR. Sorted!

Astrotoy7 09-24-2008 02:28 AM

with most extractors nowdays, you can just use winrar from scratch to unravel to desktop/wherever you want. I do this with nvidia driver installers alot because they throw in so much crud these days which they dont even give the option to leave out :( :p

good to hear youve sorted it :p

mtfbwya

Ray Jones 09-25-2008 07:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Astor_Kaine
It always extracts to my system drive, with all the windows information on it. But that drive is small because it was designed to hold only system information.

That is what you get for (A) creating extra "system"-partitions, which are also (B) way to small to even extract some bloody archive.

Quote:

EDIT: I have fixed it - I copied the .exe from the disc to another drive, and right clicked 'extract files here' with WinRAR. Sorted!
ALSO, you could right-click-drag-drop it into some drive/folder and say 'extract here', without copying it. OR, since you are using WinRAR, simply right click it and use 'extract files...' and enter/browse a path in the following dialogue, also without copying it.

Astrotoy7 09-25-2008 07:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ray Jones (Post 2529274)
That is what you get for (A) creating extra "system"-partitions, which are also (B) way to small to even extract some bloody archive.

I'm not sure about Astor's rig but alot of off the shelf jobs nowdays have a "fits tight" system partition , and quite often an equally sized recovery partition.
It's a global conspiracy between pc manufacturers and seagate wd etc :D

Im sure this strategy has sold zillions of mybook/freeagent kit ;)

mtfbwya


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.