LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   General Tech Discussion (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=691)
-   -   Wii want Wi-Fi!!! (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=191880)

Negative Sun 09-02-2008 07:27 PM

Wii want Wi-Fi!!!
 
So I've been trying to get my Wii connected to my Wireless router, but so far it's not gone too smoothly...after some digging, I've found this page, and I tried to apply their solution of the MAC filtering...I switched it to "on" on my router, but pretty soon after, my desktop (which is wirelessly connected) lost connection to the router, and so did all my other devices...So because I couldn't get back into the router settings wirlessly, I had to get the 'ol ethernet cable out to plug my laptop into the router and fix the settings back...

But my question is this:
The above site mentions this:"If MAC filtering is turned on, you will need to enter the Wii console's MAC Address into one of the available fields."

But I'm thinking I'm gonna have to do that for all my other devices as well, or am I wrong here? Because surely that's what's messed up the connection for my PC and such...

I'm just asking in case there's an easier solution I've overlooked or something.

My Wii is recognizing my router as an access point, and I can enter my WEP-Key, it just seems to have problems connecting to the router after that, so it generated an error code which led my to that page on the Nintendo support site.

ANy help would be welcome :)

Det. Bart Lasiter 09-02-2008 08:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Negative Sun (Post 2520305)
But my question is this:
The above site mentions this:"If MAC filtering is turned on, you will need to enter the Wii console's MAC Address into one of the available fields."

But I'm thinking I'm gonna have to do that for all my other devices as well, or am I wrong here? Because surely that's what's messed up the connection for my PC and such...

That's kinda the whole idea of MAC filtering... you specify which devices can connect based on their MAC address.

Astrotoy7 09-03-2008 12:47 AM

I use an app that does a great job of optimising router settings and creating device profiles.. I use wifi via tablet pc and a ds. It integrates perfectly with my wired network devices(gaming pc, htpc, media server) and Ive had to zero extra config to get them on. My sister even can get onto my network wither her mac with zero issues. Folder and print sharing is a breeze.

Give it a go negsun, tis free... (shareware) www.networkmagic.com Its my number one killer app of all time :D

http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/c.../network-1.jpg

mtfbwya

Negative Sun 09-03-2008 04:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmac7142 (Post 2520357)
That's kinda the whole idea of MAC filtering... you specify which devices can connect based on their MAC address.

Sorry, didn't quite sink in with me but it is quite obvious lolz, thanks...

@ Astro:
I've got Network Magic, I've used it to get a hold of all the MAC addresses my devices use to connect, so I'll try to enable MAC filtering again to see what happens.

EDIT:
YESSS!!! That did the trick...

Astrotoy7 09-06-2008 10:10 PM

lolz....another happy camper :D

mtfbwya


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.