LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   General Tech Discussion (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=691)
-   -   BlueScreen of Death Vista Startup (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=196682)

HK-42 03-25-2009 06:25 PM

BlueScreen of Death Vista Startup
 
I keep getting the BlueScreen on my laptop Randomly, and after that random event I keep getting it, then eventually after many restarts I get in to my computer again. It has just happened again(it started yesterday) and Im in safe mode, pretty pissed.

Here is MS problem report:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 1000008e
BCP1: C0000005
BCP2: 8F0A75AB
BCP3: B60DD060
BCP4: 00000000
OS Version: 6_0_6000
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini110306-04.dmp
C:\Users\Connor\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-59514-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Connor\AppData\Local\Temp\WER61ED.tmp.ver sion.txt

Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?link...3&clcid=0x0409


I really hope you guys know how to fix this.If all else fails Ill go and pay GeekSquad at bestbuy for some help.

Thanks!

urluckyday 03-25-2009 07:11 PM

^I can't help b/c I'm not good w/ this kind of stuff...but don't pay (and you will PAY) those half-wits to fix your computer

acdcfanbill 03-25-2009 08:59 PM

well, if you have another computer handy, I'd download memtest86+ and check your RAM. you might also want to run check disk to see if there are any errors on the hard drive.

HK-42 03-25-2009 10:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by acdcfanbill (Post 2606206)
well, if you have another computer handy, I'd download memtest86+ and check your RAM. you might also want to run check disk to see if there are any errors on the hard drive.

I got a error when I tried Memtest, and nothing happened when I hit start for the check.

RoxStar 03-26-2009 12:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HK-42 (Post 2606246)
I got a error when I tried Memtest, and nothing happened when I hit start for the check.



Sounds like it could be your ram. How many sticks do you have in your machine? I would try isolating it and trying to boot it up with just one in to see if your ram needs replacing.

HK-42 03-26-2009 01:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RoxStar (Post 2606300)
Sounds like it could be your ram. How many sticks do you have in your machine? I would try isolating it and trying to boot it up with just one in to see if your ram needs replacing.

Sticks?

Astrotoy7 03-27-2009 12:51 AM

Is your pc a store bought one? Is it still under warranty?

Im personally a bit cautious of telling someone who doesnt know what a stick of RAM is to open up their rig and fiddle around.

@HK-42
Please note, that any advice you receive on this site(or any online tech site) is advice only. Acting on it is entirely at your discretion, and your responsibility for any consequences good or bad.

Astro

HK-42 03-27-2009 01:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Astrotoy7 (Post 2606839)
Is your pc a store bought one? Is it still under warranty?

Im personally a bit cautious of telling someone who doesnt know what a stick of RAM is to open up their rig and fiddle around.

@HK-42
Please note, that any advice you receive on this site(or any online tech site) is advice only. Acting on it is entirely at your discretion, and your responsibility for any consequences good or bad.

Astro

Well I know what RAM is but I never called it sticks, and I dont know how to isolate one, or check how much I currently have. And I know the risks.

I ordered it off Dell's Site, and Im not sure if the warrenty is up, but Im pretty sure it is, but I think it would be easier to ask here then to deal with Dell(there customer support isnt exactly the best). Anyway, I tried a system restore, which worked for several shutdowns and boots, but eventually I got it again.

By the way, my laptop is a Dell Inspiron 1525

EDIT: Memory(RAM): 3062 MB

Also I noticed my Physical Memory on Task Manager is quite low?
Total: 3061
Cached: 2010(give or take 2)
Free: 0-23(varies)

Astrotoy7 03-27-2009 09:18 AM

Unless you've paid for extended warranty, standard warranty is 12 months.

Sticks of RAM in a laptop are shorter, and often called SODIMMs by nerdy types :p
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/c...ptop-ram-3.jpg

They sit in slots on the mainboard. Taking them out and putting it back in is a bit trickier in a laptop, but can be done with a bit of concentration, and CLOSELY following the instructions in the service manual of your specfific laptop model.

You just need to ensure you are following correct safety procedure:

*Unplug PC/laptop
*Work on grounded surface. ie. not on a shaggy carpet or near water :D
*anti static gloves if youre super keen

That being said, the numbers youve given from task manager are quite normal. I have a vista x64 that has been purring along nicely for a long time. Heres a cap of my taskmgr memory numbers:
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/c...y7/RAMMAGE.png

BSODs are quite commonly caused by issues related to hardware or driver changes. Have you done anything like this recently? Had you been using the pc ok for gaming etc until recently?

mtfbwya

HK-42 03-27-2009 12:30 PM

No I havent had any hardware changes, the only games I have installed Is KOTOR1/2, EAW, Axis And Allies, JK:JA. They have worked perfectly fine for a long time.

RoxStar 03-27-2009 05:25 PM

If you're not comfortable poking around yourself, see if you can find someone too look for you, it could be that one of the modules (sticks) became unseated.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.