LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Glottis' Garage (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=236)
-   -   Grim DirectDraw Fix (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=197200)

lanux128 04-20-2009 01:51 AM

Grim DirectDraw Fix
 
hi there,

i was having graphics problem on WinXP SP3 with nVidia 8600GT. after some googling, i came across these tips here and here about disabling hardware acceleration.

since they work quite well, i've wrote a small program (GrimDDFix) to do the DirectDraw toggling for me. i post this program here in case someone like me has a need for it. happy gaming... :)

Source: http://www.donationcoder.com/Forums/...=17831.new#new

plamdi.com 07-25-2009 09:11 AM

WOW! What a useful patch! Finally I can play the game on this system! Thanks so much.

This should definatly be stickied, the other patches didn't help with this problem.

Du Man 07-28-2009 02:57 AM

Awesome help man!

lanux128 08-12-2009 10:24 PM

glad to be of help guys! :)

CameronLeMans 08-25-2009 02:12 PM

So what exactly does it fix? I mainly have problems with CG effects and Cinemtaics displaying properly.

lanux128 08-29-2009 11:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CameronLeMans (Post 2666307)
So what exactly does it fix? I mainly have problems with CG effects and Cinemtaics displaying properly.

this is mainly for computers with nVidia 8xxx cards drivers where the anti-aliasing is broken and no fix is available from nVidia yet. it flips the 'hardware acceleration' to 'off' outside the game so that you can play the game in software mode without any graphics corruption.

you can also check out the thread i mentioned in the source. the thread has some screenshots to show how the graphics looked on my PC, before and after using this fix.

ThunderPeel2001 09-26-2010 12:30 PM

Um. Can't you just set the game to Software Mode in the options anyway?

Longcat 09-28-2010 08:10 AM

well, yes, but with these particular gfx cards you get corrupted polygon models anyway.

ThunderPeel2001 12-21-2010 02:04 PM

Are you sure? I use a 8800GTS and I'm pretty sure that when it's switched to software.... it uses software? :-/

Edit: Ah. The game crashes, it doesn't have corrupted polygons. But it works in software/windowed mode.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.