LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   JA Modeling (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=535)
-   -   New squeleton problems... (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=197441)

_Ghost_ 04-30-2009 05:03 PM

New squeleton problems...
 
Hello there!

I want to make a new model (a horse) with a skeleton own (I'm using Studio Max 8.0) but I'm doing some tests with simple models/skeleton first. But some problems are occurring:
-> the skeleton is rotated 90.
-> I used as reference (hierarchy, bone names...)the skeleton available in Psyk0 site, but when I view the model (in ModView) where should appear model_root appears 3DMaxscene (or something like that) instead.
-> the Meshes appear in strange places and they are rotated, however, they are connected to bones and animations work normally.
I've read several tutorials and I am using the reset xform before the Weighting, but the Meshes are still showing up in strange places.
I'm using a wrong configuration in the carcass or to export the XSI?

Psyk0Sith 04-30-2009 06:32 PM

The problem is the XSI exporter is "broken" for 3D max 8, easiest solution is to go back a few versions...i believe it still works with max 7 (using a different plugin of course). So if you can, try with previous versions and see if model_root hasnt been replaced with max scene root.

_Ghost_ 05-01-2009 06:35 PM

ok, I will check
but is a little difficult to get older versions of studio max ...
I downloaded the 4.2 softimage mod tool, it also works correctly for jedi academy?

Psyk0Sith 05-01-2009 07:42 PM

Mod tool is probably the best solution, unless there's also a problem with the exporter.

_Ghost_ 05-04-2009 11:16 AM

Psyk0
I think the plugin for 3DS Max 8.0 is not completely broken i checked and found two, but in fact only one works).
as I still have to learn to use the Mod Tool, and I really need to do this model, so I did some tests using the skeleton of the streeds made by Mars Marshall.
It is clear that the skeleton does not fit perfectly, but it worked!
I believe the problem is to export skeletons and animations ....

Psyk0Sith 05-04-2009 01:24 PM

Correct, it's broken for .GLA purposes. You can export character & vehicle meshes but a problem when it comes to custom animations & skeletons =/.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.