LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Padawan's Lounge (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=523)
-   -   Help! (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=199925)

PadawanGirl 08-18-2009 05:23 PM

Help!
 
My game crashes when I'm about to get off the Rakata world. It happened with the last KOTR game I had. This is a brand new bought one. With mods and without. I'm really annoyed. I can get to the Rakata world but not finish the game!

This is what I get right after either Carth or Bastila talks:
http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y29...t=untitled.jpg

the error in depth:
http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y29...untitled-1.jpg



Can anyone help me?? Why is it doing this? It's a brand new game! My old one did the same. :hor:

cire992 08-19-2009 05:31 AM

Are you using the same Save Game?

Is the game patched?

Does the crash occur if you play through Rakata Prime differently (i.e. different dialogue options, etc.)?

When you installed the new version of the game, did you completely uninstall your old installation (used add/remove programs in the Control Panel or used KOTOR's uninstall program)?

purifier 08-19-2009 01:41 PM

Better yet PG, if you could...give us your spec's on your computer. Such as:

CPU speed (how many Ghz), System Memory (how much ram do you have?), Operating System ( Win XP or Vista), and most important of all - Video Card (what brand?...Nvidia GeForce, Ati Radeon, Ati Rage, etc. and the spec's for the Video card as well.


If you can post that info, it would go a long way in us helping you to maybe diagnose the problem. :D

PadawanGirl 08-19-2009 01:54 PM

cire: it happens actually at various points in the game now. I uninstalled and reinstalled, patched it and have no mods, and it does it now spontaniously... I'm on Taris right now and it keeps crashing.


Purifier:
XP pro
Service pack 3
Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4800+
2.50 GHz
3.25 RAM

purifier 08-19-2009 02:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PadawanGirl (Post 2664038)
cire: it happens actually at various points in the game now. I uninstalled and reinstalled, patched it and have no mods, and it does it now spontaniously... I'm on Taris right now and it keeps crashing.


Purifier:
XP pro
Service pack 3
Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4800+
2.50 GHz
3.25 RAM



Okay, that's looking pretty good, shouldn't be any problems there, but what about your VIDEO CARD? What brand is it, do you know how old it is?


The reason I'm asking is because some games (like Kotor) don't work well with some Video cards.



Edit: Just thought of this, are you using the video system that comes as an internal part with the motherboard?

R2-X2 08-19-2009 03:40 PM

I got this error on Taris, Kashyyyk, Dantooine, Manaan, the Leviathan, and on the unknown world. (Nearly everywhere.) Pretty annoying, because I need to play on another computer, but that one has no modding tools.....
Anyway, is your graphic card good enough? Did you make the check if your computer fits all the conditions for the game running fine?

PadawanGirl 08-20-2009 12:27 AM

Video Card Name=ATI Radeon HD 3850

Sorry I forgot earlier. Hadn't had my coffee.

Quote:

Originally Posted by purifier (Post 2664048)
Okay, that's looking pretty good, shouldn't be any problems there, but what about your VIDEO CARD? What brand is it, do you know how old it is?


The reason I'm asking is because some games (like Kotor) don't work well with some Video cards.



Edit: Just thought of this, are you using the video system that comes as an internal part with the motherboard?


purifier 08-20-2009 04:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PadawanGirl (Post 2664247)
Video Card Name=ATI Radeon HD 3850


Okay....apparently there has been some video driver problems with this video card. I found a thread from tom's hardware forums that explains some of the driver issue's with this card. This may give you an idea as to what is going on with your system. So anyway click on this:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/25...n-3850-warning

Some of the people who posted there a while back in July of 2008, were talking about the old drivers not being sufficent enough, and having to use something called Ati 8.6 Hotfix driver. They provided some links to this but, I clicked on one and got an error page and then I clicked another link and it brought up some kind of advertisment download which said nothing about the 8.6 Hotfix driver as far as I could see, kinda a fishy if you ask me. I really don't know anything about this, but if I were you I'd just google it to death just to find out about it, it could be what you need.

Also, I noticed some more links to other threads about other problems concerning this video card right above tecninja's post in that thread. You might click on those threads as well, there maybe some related problems that are similar to yours. (I haven't check them all.)

Another thing you could do is to simply google the words: ATI Radeon HD 3850 drivers and see what comes up. There could be some better drivers for it by now.

Oh, and don't forget LucasArts Tech Dept. I'll bet they've come across those problems concerning your particular video card one time or another. You should find the contact info in the troubleshooting guide that comes with the game.

Well I hope this helps you, if anything - it will at least get you started. :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.