LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Technical Help (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=159)
-   -   Crash Fix For ATI videocards: Jedi Outcast/Jedi Academy (tested on Catalyst 10.11) (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206018)

g0dFather 11-27-2010 03:11 AM

Crash Fix For ATI videocards: Jedi Outcast/Jedi Academy (tested on Catalyst 10.11)
 
My kids love this game so I had to figure out a fix. Existing fixes that others posted weren't working. Thanks to all the existing suggestions I found on several sites, plus four hours of trial and error, I was able to figure it out! :)

1. Go to the GLDirect page on SourceForge. Download gldirect5_opensource.zip.

2. Extract the contents. Go to the gldirect5\bin\release folder.

3. Copy opengl32.dll to your GameData folder.

4. Play the game!!

Tested on Windows XP x86 with a Radeon HD 3850 AGP running Catalyst 10.11 drivers...Success!!
Tested on Windows 7 x64 with a Radeon HD 4870 PCIe running Catalyst 10.11 drivers...Success!!

Enjoy! :)

1/2/2012 Update: I installed the 11.12 ATI drivers and the problem seems to be resolved. If you are still experiencing this issue, make sure you have the latest drivers first.

DarthSlinky 11-27-2010 10:28 AM

Thanks for finding a download! The dll had to be extracted manually from the driver before.

g0dFather 11-27-2010 11:23 AM

I guess I can't fully celebrate just yet. There are a few people on other forums reporting that it did not work for them, but then...there are a few that say it does. :)

None of the ATI extraction methods worked for me. :\

The fix did dumb down my graphics a little, but is still playable. This DLL is only 1.4MB versus ATI's 15MB+/- version, which could be why. Some people are reporting garbled graphics and/or garbled or no audio. A Windows 7 32bit user said it didn't work.

Please post your results if it doesn't work for you and you find a solution. Good luck!

UPDATE: It did reset all my graphics to the lowest setting at first launch, but I changed my video settings back accordingly and it works great now.

DarkSykes 12-09-2010 01:30 AM

This may sound dumb.. But without using any of the Ati .dll inserts rename jk2mp.exe to quake3.exe and try to run. this means remove the extra files you added. I did this and my game runs flawlessly full graphics.. running Windows 7 x64 ultimate and ATI Radeon HD 6870.

Kapasko131 01-03-2011 12:49 PM

sub dude, so i dont find this folder called "gameadata", i play it with steam. so i dont know where to search for it?

bye

Kapo

g0dFather 01-03-2011 01:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kapasko131 (Post 2762492)
sub dude, so i dont find this folder called "gameadata", i play it with steam. so i dont know where to search for it?

bye

Kapo

I still run the retail version. After searching online, the default path for the Steam version appears to be:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\jedi academy\GameData

Allan2010 01-06-2011 11:38 PM

Hi Need help:Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: jasp.exe
Application Version: 1.0.1.0
Application Timestamp: 3f999a27
Fault Module Name: StackHash_9b02
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 564e5f4c
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 9b02
Additional Information 2: 9b022142d2d01e396e8e174ed72fc01b
Additional Information 3: bff4
Additional Information 4: bff4159960f924e8cc5481986c45f561

************************************************** **********************

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: jamp.exe
Application Version: 1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 3f1cc0ec
Fault Module Name: StackHash_f994
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Offset: 7463656c
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Data: 00000008
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: f994
Additional Information 2: f994a64ef724727d60419cc768abf57e
Additional Information 3: ee4a
Additional Information 4: ee4a8898addab00dfa01b9dd49cde082
*****************
Sys specs:Dell Lap
Primary Adapter
Graphics Card Manufacturer Powered by ATI
Graphics Chipset ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470
Device ID 68E0
Vendor 1002

Subsystem ID 0447
Subsystem Vendor ID 1028

Graphics Bus Capability PCI Express 2.0
Maximum Bus Setting PCI Express 2.0 x16

BIOS Version 012.018.000.004
BIOS Part Number BR036653.001
BIOS Date 2010/02/25

Memory Size 512 MB
Memory Type DDR3

Core Clock in MHz 750 MHz
Memory Clock in MHz 800 MHz
Total Memory Bandwidth in GByte/s 12.8 GByte/s

Hastings 01-13-2011 04:39 PM

Will it also work on Windows 7 32- bit with ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series????

g0dFather 01-14-2011 09:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hastings (Post 2764247)
Will it also work on Windows 7 32- bit with ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series????

I couldn't say. You'll have to try it and tell us! ;)

g0dFather 01-14-2011 10:03 AM

Other threads
 
I have posted similar threads for this in the Steam Forums. Users are posting their results plus other methods that can be tried if this one fails.

Jedi Outcast thread
Jedi Academy thread

Encaitar 01-15-2011 04:56 AM

10.12
 
Hello, when I use this fix on Catalyst 10.12 consol says:
Quote:

GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem
Method with the older drivers and file atifix.bat (atioglxx.dll) does not work for me...
Any idea how fix my problem?

My PC:
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I7 870
HD 6950

Sorry for my English

EH_Scuslem 01-25-2011 03:33 PM

I'm running vista 64bit, I tryed everything else, this fix worked great!! Thank you for posting this. It worked for both JA and JO, once again thanks.

EH_Scuslem

Kurgan 08-24-2011 11:46 AM

Glad this thread exists. I've had my ATI Allinwonder 9600 for years (under 2000) and never had a problem with JA/JK2 (only problem I ever had with the card was with the "tv" portion which stopped working, and that was before the digital changeover so I didn't use it much, sadly). I also had an old ATI Mobility Radeon with XP that worked fine.

But, I'll be getting a new machine with win7 (and ATI Radeon HD 6490M) in the next couple of weeks, and I'll let you know how it goes!

Of course I'll be using my old JA CD's, rather than dealing with steam.

gergo0205 08-30-2011 07:38 AM

Help me,please! Not Working :(
 


I downloaded it, gamedata, I started the game, but is out of order!! :confused: (GL DIRECT ERROR) help me!!!
what should I do?

Wizard89 10-19-2011 03:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by g0dFather (Post 2757252)
My kids love this game so I had to figure out a fix. Existing fixes that others posted weren't working. Thanks to all the existing suggestions I found on several sites, plus four hours of trial and error, I was able to figure it out! :)

1. Go to the GLDirect page on SourceForge. Download gldirect5_opensource.zip.

2. Extract the contents. Go to the gldirect5\bin\release folder.

3. Copy opengl32.dll to your GameData folder.

4. Play the game!!

Tested on Windows XP x86 with a Radeon HD 3850 AGP running Catalyst 10.11 drivers...Success!!
Tested on Windows 7 x64 with a Radeon HD 4870 PCIe running Catalyst 10.11 drivers...Success!!

Enjoy! :)

Thanks a lot Dude! Respect!! Very helpfull!

Belenor 12-19-2011 03:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Encaitar (Post 2764500)
Hello, when I use this fix on Catalyst 10.12 consol says:

GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

Method with the older drivers and file atifix.bat (atioglxx.dll) does not work for me...
Any idea how fix my problem?

My PC:
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I7 870
HD 6950

Sorry for my English

I guess you've already solved this problem, but anyway:

Make sure you have latest drivers - I guess you do. Some time ago, this problem could be caused by write-protected opengl library, so it was not updated even with the latest drivers. In this case, you could copy OpenGL32.dll to the GameData directory (where jk2sp.exe or jasp.exe resides). There was also a possibility that color depth of the display is less than 16bit colors, but I guess this will not happen in these days - well, make sure that it is highcolor (16) or truecolor (32).

Well, that is all I know :-)

Austonovich 01-06-2012 07:45 AM

AH! Thank you so much! Jedi Academy works now, thanks to you.

clevelandbrown 01-22-2012 06:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by g0dFather (Post 2757252)
My kids love this game so I had to figure out a fix. Existing fixes that others posted weren't working. Thanks to all the existing suggestions I found on several sites, plus four hours of trial and error, I was able to figure it out! :)

It worked for me. Thank you very much for your time and effort.
-----
Cleveland

Chocodark 03-22-2012 05:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Encaitar (Post 2764500)
Hello, when I use this fix on Catalyst 10.12 consol says:

GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

Method with the older drivers and file atifix.bat (atioglxx.dll) does not work for me...
Any idea how fix my problem?

My PC:
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I7 870
HD 6950

Sorry for my English

I'm having the same problem with a similar computer. Does anyone knows how to fix it ? Thank you. (None of the former solutions works)

Kurgan 04-04-2012 03:53 AM

I had a lot of video driver problems on my new laptop, but I have since learned that laptops are their own animal, they require SPECIAL video card drivers found on the laptop company's web page. The other drivers, even if they are newer, either won't install or goof things up!

JackyTheDarkWolfy 06-15-2012 05:40 PM

Jedi Knight 2 Open gl Issue
 
Ok I have Relised..at I have Intel Chipset Family Express..But Quake 3 and quake 3 team arena works even JK original and expansion and even doom 1 too two..but only Jedi knight jedi outcast and jedi academy has this issue..I Installed Jk2 Then just went to the shortcut and Had the compibility on Windows xp service pack 3 and run as administrator..That didn't work..and when I putted the open gl file to the gamedata ( wished it workeD) ..It just became completely gray screen nothing happend..even tried changing the Jk2.SpExe into Quake 3 didn't work...so I am all out of advices Video Card >>>> Intel (R)8295G/GV/910GL express chipset family Need help


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.