LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   JA Modeling (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=535)
-   -   modeling,and importing (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206146)

Scraby 12-12-2010 07:00 AM

modeling,and importing
 
hello,im new here to the forums,i wanted to ask i made a model in maya,and fixed the polys to 4000 so that the model could be imported into the game,but i have probs with how to import the model and what do i need to do to rig it into the game

Psyk0Sith 12-12-2010 10:35 AM

You need 3d studio max 4 up to 8 or XSI, if you dont have acess to any of them, you won't be able to compile it.

Scraby 12-12-2010 10:54 AM

thanks,i have an old version fo max... but i have lots of others like maya blender lightwave and milkshape... can any of these help out?

Psyk0Sith 12-12-2010 04:02 PM

If you have max, that's what you'll need to rig the mesh, nothing else will work.

There's some files in the original SDK too:
http://jediknight3.filefront.com/fil...ing_Tools;2433

Mostly modview and carcass.

Scraby 12-13-2010 11:58 AM

thanks :)

edit: i get this message when i load the model in modview FS_Readfile with empty name :/

Psyk0Sith 12-13-2010 03:56 PM

That's a first one for me...

What kind of model are you trying to load? modview is for .glm only.

Read about setting up the tools here (called setting up the work path):

Scraby 12-13-2010 04:08 PM

i made a glm model but the thing is still there, here i uploaded the model,if you could take a look... i done everything u said but im still having the error :( http://jumbofiles.com/ohnp6vgi9qde

Psyk0Sith 12-13-2010 04:26 PM

You will never get this model to work in Jedi Academy.

There are at least 7 steps involved in compiling a successful .glm.

First thing you need is to get the proper skeleton, then your mesh needs to be fitted around it, because JA doesn't allow custom rigs (not for humanoids at least). Then you segment the model, then you rig it, create caps and finally export to .xsi then compile with carcass.exe.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.