LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Jedi Outcast (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   Jedi Outcast Loadind issues (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=208185)

Jacaranda 08-16-2011 10:05 AM

Jedi Outcast Loadind issues
 
Hi there:) ok so recently bought a laptop, (hp pavillion dv6-6077ei) with windows 7 and AMD Radeon 6770M and tried to install Outcast and Academy, they both installed fine but when it came to playing I got this lovely long story :confused: :: :mad:






Ok thats weird, its always given me the same "could not load opengl subsystem" error, i just ried to run the game so i coud copy it on here but when i just tried iy like 2 min ago the screen just gets all these grey lines across it, dont think it was frozen though as i could hear the menu buttons as i was racing the mouse aroung in a fit of rage :( Help?

Jamps 08-16-2011 03:08 PM

Try to update the drivers on your graphic card. You can find them on AMD's page.

http://support.amd.com/us/Pages/AMDSupportHub.aspx

Jacaranda 08-16-2011 05:03 PM

I've updated my drivers, updated the game and tried changing the compatibility to windows xp, when i changed it to xp it didnt give me the "could not load opengl subsystem" instead it "encountereD a problem and has to close"..... is there something that I'm missing?

Jacaranda 08-16-2011 06:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jacaranda (Post 2788390)
Hi there:) ok so recently bought a laptop, (hp pavillion dv6-6077ei) with windows 7 and AMD Radeon 6770M and tried to install Outcast and Academy, they both installed fine but when it came to playing I got this lovely long story :confused: :: :mad:






Ok thats weird, its always given me the same "could not load opengl subsystem" error, i just ried to run the game so i coud copy it on here but when i just tried iy like 2 min ago the screen just gets all these grey lines across it, dont think it was frozen though as i could hear the menu buttons as i was racing the mouse aroung in a fit of rage :( Help?

Ok so this is the error msg:

JK2: v1.03 win-x86 May 3 2002
Initialising zone memory .....
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\assets5.pk3 (4 files)
C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\assets2.pk3 (289 files)
C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\assets1.pk3 (8011 files)
C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\assets0.pk3 (6674 files)
C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData/base

----------------------
14978 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
couldn't exec jk2config.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
...detecting CPU, found Intel Pentium IV

------- Input Initialization -------
Skipping check for DirectInput
Joystick is not active.
------------------------------------
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
Working directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData
----- R_Init -----
Initializing OpenGL subsystem
...initializing QGL
...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\Windows\system32\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using desktop display depth of 8
...calling CDS: ok
...registered window class
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

acdcfanbill 08-17-2011 01:17 AM

I believe there are issues with recent drivers from ATI.

Try the method listed here http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=206018

or try this method http://lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=204478

Jacaranda 08-17-2011 03:05 AM

Thank you!!! the 1st one works great :) :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.